Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

C31 Hearst Annex
T/Th 3:45-5:15
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Cultural Studies
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

D29N Hearst Annex
M 3-5
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Oliver Arnold Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

B34 Hearst Annex
Th 12:30-2:30
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Stephanie M Bahr Stephanie M Bahr
Lecturer

stephaniebahr@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Film
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor

B24 Hearst Annex
Thursday, Café Strada 2:30-3:30 (by appointment - please email)
sbest@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

B32 Hearst Annex
Graduate: Thursday, 2-4 p.m., Cafe Milano; General: Tuesday, 2-4 p.m., B-32 Hearst Field Annex
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Jeffrey Blevins Jeffrey Blevins
Lecturer

Tuesdays 1:30-3:30 in Cafe Milano
jblevins@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Linguistics
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

C48 Hearst Annex
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
19th-Century American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

B52 Hearst Annex
Thurs 11-12 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

B52 Hearst Annex
MW 10:00 am - 11:00 am, and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 473 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Hours by appointment.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

B7 Hearst Annex
Wednesday, 2:30-4:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Native American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

C61 Hearst Annex
Fall 2016: Wed. 2:00-5:00 pm
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Scottish
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

B58 Hearst Annex
Wednesdays 9-11a | Abe's Cafe, Euclid Ave
nellis@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Gender & Sexuality Studies
African American
Cultural Studies
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

B56 Hearst Annex
Fall 2016: Monday 1-4 p.m.
efalci@berkeley.edu
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

D29A Hearst Annex
MON 2:00-3:00+6:00-7:00, Spring '16
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

C34 Hearst Annex
on leave
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

B54 Hearst Annex
Spring 2015: ON LEAVE
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

C44 Hearst Annex
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

C62 Hearst Annex
Spring 2016. Tuesdays, 2:30-5. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
510-642-2736
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

C11 Hearst Annex
MW 4-5 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

C63 Hearst Annex
Spring 2016 T 3:30-4:30; F 12:30-2:00
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

C51 Hearst Annex
Friday 12:30pm - 3:00pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

C12 Hearst Annex
Fridays 1-2:30 pm, and by appointment
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Poetry
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

C13 Hearst Annex
Office Hours: By Appointment
dhale@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Kathleen L. Haley Kathleen L. Haley
Visiting Scholar

kathleen.haley1@gmail.com
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

C17 Hearst Annex
TuTh 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

C65 Hearst Annex
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

C64 Hearst Annex
by appointment
lynhejinian@gmail.com
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

D21B Hearst Annex
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Cultural Studies
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

C52 Hearst Annex
Tue 10-12:30
dvjones@berkeley.edu
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Chancellor's Professor

D21A Hearst Annex
Wednesday 11am-12:30PM in 694 Barrows Hall
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

D29E Hearst Annex
Fall 2016, Tuesdays & Thursdays 11:30-1, or by appointment
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

B26 Hearst Annex
By appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
Cultural Studies
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

C53 Hearst Field Annex
Office hours, Fall 2016: Weds 12:30 to 2:30 and Thu 4-5, HFA lawn (if sunny) or HFA C53 (if dreary)
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

C54 Hearst Field Annex
Fridays 11-1; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Joseph Lavery Joseph Lavery
Assistant Professor

C35 Hearst Field Annex
Sabbatical Fall 2016: email for appointment if urgent.
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor; Faculty Equity Officer

C55 Hearst Field Annex
Office Hours, Fall 2016: Tuesday 1 pm - 3 pm (please e-mail for appointment)
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

D25G Hearst Field Annex
On Sabbatical in 2015-2016
clye@berkeley.edu
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
David Marno David Marno
Assistant Professor

C45 Hearst Field Annex
MF 2-4 at Blue Door Cafe (2244 Bancroft) and by appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

D29H Hearst Field Annex
On leave, spring 2015. Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
510-642-2750
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
Katherine Mezur Katherine Mezur
Lecturer

D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

D29 Hearst Field Annex
M 3-5
damiller@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
Cultural Studies
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

C15 Hearst Field Annex
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

B22 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Geoffrey G. O'Brien Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

C16 Hearst Field Annex
Fridays, 2-5pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
T, W 10-11
kobok@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Cultural Studies
Joyce Carol Oates Joyce Carol Oates
Professor

Office Hours: 3-3:30 and 6:30-7, immediately before and after class in 203 Wheeler
Creative Writing
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

D25D Hearst Field Annex
By appointment. Please email.
sotter@berkeley.edu
Early American
19th-Century American
African American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor and Chair

B38 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
R. D. Perry R. D. Perry
Lecturer

HFA
by appointment
rdperry@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
Joanna M Picciotto Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

D25F Hearst Field Annex
by appointment
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Associate Professor

D25E Hearst Field Annex
Fridays, 11-12
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
Film
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

C36 Hearst Field Annex
MW 2-3 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

D29B Hearst Field Annex
W noon-3 pm
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

C47 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

D25A Hearst Field Annex
On leave 2016
serpell@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

HFA courtyard or D29A HFA (email me)
Mon 12:40-2, Fri 12:10-2, by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor

C32 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Janet Sorensen Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Mondays 1-2:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

D29D Hearst Field Annex
336 Wheeler, Tue.-Thur. 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

D29C Hearst Field Annex
by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Early American
19th-Century American
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

C33 Hearst Field Annex
W 2-5: please email for appointment
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

D29A Hearst Field Annex
by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

D25C Hearst Field Annex
bwagner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

Hearst Field Annex B, Room 36
By appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Lecturer

Babette
By Appointment Only
wendy.xin@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

C46 Hearst Field Annex
On leave 2016-7
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

411 Wheeler
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

233 Wheeler
jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Stephen Booth Stephen Booth
Emeritus

409 Wheeler
sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Carol T. Christ Carol T. Christ
Professor

333 Wheeler Hall
cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
Richard Feingold Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Donald M. Friedman Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

229 Wheeler
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

462 Wheeler
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Maxine Hong Kingston Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Anne Middleton Anne Middleton
Emerita

430 Wheeler
middletona@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Bharati Mukherjee Bharati Mukherjee
Professor Emerita

334 Wheeler
T 12:30-3:30
missnewindia@gmail.com
World Literature
Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Poetry
Scottish
Old English
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Carolyn Porter Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Ishmael S. Reed Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

uncleish@aol.com
Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Alex Zwerdling Alex Zwerdling
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
alexzw@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British