Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

424 Wheeler
Thursday 4-5:30 and by appointment
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Cultural Studies
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

332 Wheeler
M 3-5
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Oliver Arnold Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

410 Wheeler Hall
Tu 2:30-5:00
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Emerita Recalled

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor

404 Wheeler
on leave
sbest@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor

437 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Distinguished Chair in Writing

420 Wheeler
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
19th-Century American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

451 Wheeler
MW 10-11 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Sr. Lecturer SOE

451 Wheeler
TTh 9:30 am - 10:30 am, and by appointment.
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Professor of Journalism and English

121 Northgate Hall
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor Director, Berkeley Connect in Engish

440 Wheeler
Wed. 10:30-12:00, and by appointment
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Native American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler
Fall 2015: on leave
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Scottish
18th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

452 Wheeler
On Leave Spring '15
nellis@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Gender & Sexuality Studies
African American
Cultural Studies
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

308 Wheeler
Summer 2015: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

476 Wheeler
MON 2:00-3:00+6:00-7:00, Spring '16
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

454 Wheeler
On sabbatical
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

453 Wheeler
Spring 2015: ON LEAVE
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

417 Wheeler
Wednesdays, 2-5. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
510-642-2736
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

413 Wheeler
TTh 3:30-5:00 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

431 Wheeler
Spring 2015 T 11-1; F 2-3
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

435 Wheeler
On Leave Spring 2015
marcial@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

477 Wheeler
Spring 2015: Tuesdays, 4-5; Thursdays, 2-4
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

335 Wheeler Hall
No Summer Hours
dhale@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

426 Wheeler
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

405 Wheeler
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
Professor

406 Wheeler
on leave spring 2015; meetings by appt
lynhejinian@gmail.com
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Steven  Isenberg Steven Isenberg
Visiting Professor

472 Wheeler
Tues/Thurs 4-5pm and Wed 2:30-4pm and by appointment.
steven.isenberg@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

236 Wheeler
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Cultural Studies
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

455 Wheeler
W 10-12
dvjones@berkeley.edu
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Chancellor's Professor

334 Wheeler
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

463 Wheeler
Summer 2015: by appointment
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

401 Wheeler
Friday 1-3 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
Cultural Studies
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

402 Wheeler
On leave Fall 2014 and Spring 2015; office hours by appointment
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

425 Wheeler Hall
T 3:30-4:30, F 12-2
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Joseph Lavery Joseph Lavery
Assistant Professor

442 Wheeler
Tuesday 9 - 11, and by appointment
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Steven Sunwoo Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor

415 Wheeler
Office Hours, Spring 2015: (Revised) T 5-6:30 pm; Th 12:30-2 pm
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

433 Wheeler
On Sabbatical in Spring 2015
clye@berkeley.edu
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
David Marno David Marno
Assistant Professor

419 Wheeler
On leave Spring 2015
marno@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

235 Wheeler
On leave, spring 2015. Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
510-642-2750
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
Emeritus Recalled
John F. Hotchkis Chair Emeritus

407 Wheeler
damiller@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
Cultural Studies
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

414 Wheeler
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

230 Wheeler
Monday 5-6; Wednesday 4:30-5:30
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Geoffrey G. O'Brien Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

436 Wheeler
Tuesdays, 2-4pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
On leave through fall 2015
kobok@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Cultural Studies
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

232 Wheeler
Tues. and Weds. 3:30-5:00 pm
sotter@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor

422 Wheeler
Fridays 2:30-4:00., and by appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
Irina Paperno Irina Paperno
professor

6215 Dwinelle
ipaperno@berkeley.edu
510-642-3387
Joanna M Picciotto Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

233 Wheeler
by appointment
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Associate Professor

403 Wheeler
Fridays, 12-1:30
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
Film
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

443 Wheeler Hall
On Leave Spring 2015
psaha@berkeley.edu
Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

441 Wheeler
Th 2:15-5:15
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

309 Wheeler
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

464 Wheeler
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

476 Wheeler
on leave for the spring term
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor

409 Wheeler
Office Hours: Tues/Wed 2-3 pm and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Rebecca Solnit Rebecca Solnit
Adjunct Professor

Th 2-3 and by appointment
Janet Sorensen Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Tuesday 3:30-5 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

336 Wheeler, Tue.-Thur. 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

310 Wheeler
Mondays and Wednesdays, 4-6, and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Early American
19th-Century American
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

434 Wheeler
W 3-5, and by appointment
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

333 Wheeler
MW 2-3:30pm or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Mon/Wed 4:30-5:30
bwagner@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor, Department of English

423 Wheeler Hall
Mondays & Tuesdays 11-11:30 & by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

475 Wheeler
Wednesday 11-12.30pm & by appointment
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

411 Wheeler
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

233 Wheeler
jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Stephen Booth Stephen Booth
Emeritus

409 Wheeler
sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Carol T. Christ Carol T. Christ
Professor

333 Wheeler Hall
cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
Donald M. Friedman Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

229 Wheeler
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

462 Wheeler
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Ron Loewinsohn Ron Loewinsohn
Emeritus

430 Wheeler Hall
ronloewi@socrates.berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Anne Middleton Anne Middleton
Emerita

430 Wheeler
middletona@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Bharati Mukherjee Bharati Mukherjee
Professor Emerita

334 Wheeler
T 12:30-3:30
missnewindia@gmail.com
World Literature
Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
(303) 955-2158
Poetry
Scottish
Old English
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Carolyn Porter Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Ishmael S. Reed Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

uncleish@aol.com
Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Alex Zwerdling Alex Zwerdling
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
alexzw@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British