Berkeley English Faculty


Name Interests
Abel_elizabeth_to_upload Elizabeth Abel
Professor
424 Wheeler
Tuesday 5-6:30; Thursday 2-3:30
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Cultural Studies
Charlie_alitieri_3879_to_upload Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair
332 Wheeler
thurs 3:40-5:40 and by appointment
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Photo_60x60 Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair
410 Wheeler Hall
Tu 2:30-5:00
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Bader_julia_3612 Julia Bader
Emerita Recalled
234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Unnamed Jasper Bernes
Lecturer
421 Wheeler
Wednesday 1:30-4:30
bernes@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20 Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor
404 Wheeler
Tuesday and Thursday, 11:00-12:00
sbest@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Bram_van_velde C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor
437 Wheeler Hall
Tuesday, 2-5 p.m.
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
274109_1168662201_6169706_n Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel P. Koshland, Jr. Distinguished Chair in Writing
420 Wheeler
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
19th-Century American
Dept_photo_ccb Catherine Cronquist Browning
Lecturer
421 Wheeler
Mon. 2-3 pm, Wed 11 am-noon, Fri 2-3 pm, and by appointment
cronquist@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Campion_john_12_2009 036 John Campion
Lecturer
478 Wheeler
T/Th: 9:00-9:30; 11:00-11:30
jmcampion@berkeley.edu
510-332-9070
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Ma_66_proof Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer
451 Wheeler
TTh 1-2
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
53 Vikram Chandra
Sr. Lecturer SOE
451 Wheeler
MW 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm, and by appointment.
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Danner1 Mark Danner
Professor of Journalism and English
121 Northgate Hall
mark@markdanner.com
Donegan photo Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor Director, Berkeley Connect in Engish
440 Wheeler
Mon. 12:30-2:00, and by appointment
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Native American
Img_2297 - version 2 Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English
456 Wheeler
Fall 2014: Tues., 3:30-5:00 pm; Thurs., 3:30-4:30 pm
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Scottish
18th-Century British
Img_3611_smaller-2 Nadia Ellis
Assistant Professor
452 Wheeler
nellis@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Caribbean
Gender & Sexuality Studies
African American
Cultural Studies
Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor
308 Wheeler
Fall 2014: Tuesdays, 10 a.m.-noon and Thursdays, 2-3 p.m.
efalci@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Farber_thomas_3368 Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer
476 Wheeler
Weds 2:00-3:00+6:0o-7:00, Spring '15
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Img_3856_2_2_2_2 Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor
454 Wheeler
Monday 11-12, Wednesday 11-12, 2-3, and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Francois_ anne-lise_3730 Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor
453 Wheeler
Fall 2014 Office Hours: T 2-3:30, W 1:30-3:00, and by appt.
afrancoi@socrates.berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Nilofar Nilofar Gardezi
Lecturer
421 Wheeler
W 1:30-3:30pm and by appointment
ngardezi@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
7 Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor
417 Wheeler
Thursdays, 3-6. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
510-642-2736
Creative Writing
Img_0570_3 Mark Goble
Associate Professor
413 Wheeler
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Ww's room Steven Goldsmith
Professor
431 Wheeler
Spring 2014 W 12-2
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Photo mg Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor
435 Wheeler
Fri 12 - 2pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Office Hrs: F 12-2pm
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
40 Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor
477 Wheeler
Thursdays, 2-4 pm and by appointment
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
English photo Zachary Gordon
Berkeley Lecturer
411 Wheeler
zgordon@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gotanda_to_upload Philip Kan Gotanda
Associate Adjunct Professor
Dwinelle Annex Rm 211
TTH 12:00-2:00/3:30-5:30 and by appointment
joeozu@aol.com
Asian American
Drama
Creative Writing
30 Dorothy J. Hale
Professor
335 Wheeler Hall
Weds 3-4 and Thurs 4-5 (starting 8/27/14)
dhale@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
111 Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor
426 Wheeler
on leave
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Hass_bob_0451 Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics
405 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
31 Lyn Hejinian
Professor
406 Wheeler
Fri 1:30-4:30
lynhejinian@gmail.com
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Robert hirst photo larger Robert H. Hirst
General Editor, Mark Twain Project and Curator, Mark Twain Papers
The Bancroft Library, Suite 475
TTh, 1:00-2:00
rhirst@library.berkeley.edu
643-3560
Janmohamed_abdul_3293 Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor
236 Wheeler
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Cultural Studies
Jones_donna_to_upload Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor
455 Wheeler
M 10-12
dvjones@berkeley.edu
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Sj Steven Justice
Professor
sjustice@berkeley.edu Middle English
Kahn photo Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English
4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
34 Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE
463 Wheeler
Fall 2014: Mondays & Wednesdays 2-3:30, or by appointment
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
26 Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English
401 Wheeler
Thurs. 12:30-2:30 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
Cultural Studies
Meet the press marisa Marisa Palacios Knox
Lecturer
Wheeler 421
TTh 11-12
mknox@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
44 David Landreth
Associate Professor
402 Wheeler
On leave Fall 2014 and Spring 2015; office hours by appointment
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
43 Celeste Langan
Associate Professor
425 Wheeler Hall
M 4:00-5:30; F 1:30-3:00
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Profile 2014 Joseph Lavery
Assistant Professor
442 Wheeler
WF 3 - 4, and by appointment
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
112 Steven Lee
Assistant Professor
415 Wheeler
Office Hours, Fall 2014: M 12:30-3:30
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
56 Colleen Lye
Associate Professor
433 Wheeler
Office Hours Th 12:30-1:30 and by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Marno cross norig David Marno
Assistant Professor
419 Wheeler
Monday 4-5-30, Friday 4-5:30, and by appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
27 Donald McQuade
Professor
235 Wheeler
Tuesdays and Thursdays: 4:00 - 5:30 pm, and by appointment (510) 642-2750
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
510-642-2750
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Da miller photo D.A. Miller
Emeritus Recalled
John F. Hotchkis Chair Emeritus
407 Wheeler
damiller@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
Cultural Studies
Dsc_3191 Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor
414 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura_nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor
230 Wheeler
On leave, AY 2012-2013
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Photo_60x60 Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor
436 Wheeler
Thursdays, 5-7pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
35 Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor and Chair of Department
Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Chair's drop in hours: 9-10 TTh, 322 Wheeler Hall
kobok@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Cultural Studies
32 Samuel Otter
Professor
232 Wheeler
Mon., Weds. 5:30-7:00 pm
sotter@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
69 Genaro M. Padilla
Professor
422 Wheeler
Fridays 2:30-4:00., and by appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
Photo_60x60 Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor
233 Wheeler
by appointment
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Photo on 9-7-11 at 12 Kent Puckett
Associate Professor
403 Wheeler
Fridays, 11-12:30
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
Film
Photo_60x60 Edwin Roberson
Holloway Fellow
edroberson@berkeley.edu
Photo Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor
443 Wheeler Hall
TR 11-12:30 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Saul_scott_to_upload Scott Saul
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
441 Wheeler
Th 1-4
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
42 Susan Schweik
Professor
Associate Dean in the Division of Arts and Humanities
309 Wheeler
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
92 Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor
464 Wheeler
Fall 2014: Th 11.30am-1.30pm, by appointment
serpell@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
89 John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer
476 Wheeler
Mondays 9:30 am to 12:30 pm
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Dsc_9587_small Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor
409 Wheeler
Office Hours: Wed/Thurs 1-2 pm and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Rebecca solnit portrait 01a Rebecca Solnit
Adjunct Professor
Th 2-3 and by appointment
Photo_60x60 Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor
432 Wheeler
Mondays 2-4 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
41 George A. Starr
Professor
336 Wheeler, Tue.-Thur. 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Img_0473 Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
310 Wheeler
Wednesdays, 9-12, and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Early American
19th-Century American
Thornbury_emily_3238 Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor
434 Wheeler
M 3-5, F 10-11, and by appointment
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
Kirstentranter author pic Kirsten Tranter
Lecturer
Wheeler 474
Tues 10:30-11:30; Wed 10- 12; Thurs 10:30-11:30 and by appointment
ktranter@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
36 James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English
333 Wheeler
TTh 12:30-2pm or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Bw Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor
416 Wheeler
Mon/Wed 4:30-5:30
bwagner@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Wong_hertha_sweet_0168_to_upload Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor, Department of English and Chair, Department of Art Practice
339 Kroeber Hall Mondays 10-11 (except the 1st M of every month), 423 Wheeler Hall Tuesdays 12:30-1:30 & by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Image 5 Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor
475 Wheeler
Tuesday 2-3.30pm & by appointment
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British

Name Interests
Altman_joel_to_upload Joel B. Altman
Emeritus
237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita
411 Wheeler
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
Bishop_john_12_2009 041 John Bishop
Emeritus
233 Wheeler
jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Bloom_to_upload Robert Bloom
Emeritus
337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Photo_60x60 Stephen Booth
Emeritus
409 Wheeler
sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Photo_60x60 Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus
337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Yt5k9674-1 Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English
229 Wheeler
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
45 Richard Hutson
Emeritus
462 Wheeler
W 1:10-2 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Photo_60x60 Ron Loewinsohn
Emeritus
430 Wheeler Hall
ronloewi@socrates.berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Middleton_dsc_1834_to_upload Anne Middleton
Emerita
430 Wheeler
middletona@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Mukherjee_author_photo Bharati Mukherjee
Professor Emerita
334 Wheeler
T 12:30-3:30
mukhster@aol.com
World Literature
Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
Nelson_alan_3689 Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus
430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Niles8 websize John Niles
Emeritus
jdniles@wisc.edu
(303) 955-2158
Poetry
Scottish
Old English
Paley_morton_12_2009_disc2 033 Morton D. Paley
Emeritus
337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Photo_60x60 Carolyn Porter
Emerita
cporter@berkeley.edu 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Photo_60x60 Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus
uncleish@aol.com
H Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus
237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Ngpds_3 Peter D. Scott
Emeritus
430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Dsc_1506 Robert Tracy
Emeritus
337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Zwerdling_dsc_1705_small Alex Zwerdling
Emeritus
237 Wheeler
alexzw@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British