Berkeley English Graduate Students

Interests
Anna Jones Abramson Anna Jones Abramson

anna.abramson@gmail.com
781-801-0381
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Adrian Mark Acu Adrian Mark Acu

aacu@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Adam Ahmed Adam Ahmed

adam.ahmed@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Poetry
Cultural Studies
Joe Albernaz Joe Albernaz

400 Wheeler
W 12-2
albernaz@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Edward Sterling Alexander Edward Sterling Alexander

tedalexander@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Joshua Adam Anderson Joshua Adam Anderson

331 Wheeler
Mondays, 2 - 4 p.m.
joshuaanderson@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
19th-Century American
Carlo Arreglo Carlo Arreglo

arreglo@berkeley.edu
Ernest T. Artiz Ernest T. Artiz

eartiz@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Caribbean
South Asian
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Stephanie M Bahr Stephanie M Bahr

stephaniebahr@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Film
Andrew Barbour Andrew Barbour

abarbour@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Mark Bauer Mark Bauer

331 Wheeler
M 12:00-1:00; F 11:00-12:00
markbauer@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rachel Beck Rachel Beck

whollyword@yahoo.com
Daniel Benjamin Daniel Benjamin

dbenjamin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Michael Erik Bigley Michael Erik Bigley

zbigley@hotmail.com
Middle English
Poetry
Jeffrey Blevins Jeffrey Blevins

Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow
jblevins@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Poetry
Katherine Isabel Bondy Katherine Isabel Bondy

kbondy@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Bradford Q. Boyd Bradford Q. Boyd

bradford.boyd@gmail.com
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Scottish
18th-Century British
Emma Bufton Emma Bufton

ebufton@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Corinna  Burrell Corinna Burrell

Brandon Callender Brandon Callender

brandon.callender@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Benjamin Zenas Cannon Benjamin Cannon

benjamin_cannon@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Carmen Castillo Carmen Castillo

ccastillo@berkeley.edu
Alex Catchings Alex Catchings

acatchings@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Shannon Chamberlain Shannon Chamberlain

shannon.chamberlain@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Scottish
18th-Century British
Jeehyun Choi Jeehyun Choi

jhchoi@berkeley.edu
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Juliana H. Chow Juliana H. Chow

Wheeler 331
TTh 2-3pm
julianachow@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Helen Ciacciarelli Helen Ciacciarelli

Cafe Milano
M & W 12-1
hciaccia@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rebecca Clark Rebecca Clark

331 Wheeler
MW 1-2pm and by appointment
rbclark42@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Julia Cohen Julia Cohen

jcohen@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
19th-Century American
Robert Spencer Coldren Robert Spencer Coldren

spencercoldren@hotmail.com
Jesse Cordes Selbin Jesse Cordes Selbin

Editorial Assistant
Representations
j.c.s@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
CFS Creasy CFS Creasy

PhD Candidate
331 Wheeler
by appointment
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Textual Criticism
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Johaina Crisostomo Johaina Crisostomo

Chad Gregory Crosson Chad Gregory Crosson

331 Wheeler
MW 9:30-10:30am
ccrosson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Frank Eugene Cruz Frank Eugene Cruz

PhD Candidate, R&C Instructor
331 Wheeler Hall
By appointment
cruz@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Ben Cullen Ben Cullen

PhD Candidate
400 Wheeler
bencullen@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Eliot D'Silva Eliot D'Silva

Poetry
Critical Theory
Jason de Stefano Jason de Stefano

jasond@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Early American
Rosalind Diaz Rosalind Diaz

331 Wheeler
By appt.
rosalind.diaz@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Arístides Dimitriou Arístides Dimitriou

Office Hours (Spring 2015):
Wednesdays, 11:00am-1:00pm; Wheeler 331
dimitriou@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Caribbean
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Katherine Ding Katherine Ding

400 Wheeler Hall
1-2 pm Wednesday, and by appointment
katherine.ding@berkeley.com
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Alex Dumont Alex Dumont

331 Wheeler
By appointment
alex_dumont@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel

hke@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Early American
Maude Emerson Maude Emerson

maude.emerson@gmail.com
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Christopher Tzechung Fan Christopher Tzechung Fan

cfan@berkeley.edu
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Kathryn  Fleishman Kathryn Fleishman

PhD Candidate & GSI
Wheeler 331
Thu 11-12:30
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
Imogen Forbes-Macphail Imogen Forbes-Macphail

iforbes-macphail@berkeley.edu
Middle English
19th-Century British
Samira Franklin Samira Franklin

samira@berkeley.edu
Marcos Albert Garcia Marcos Albert Garcia

marcosgarcia@berkeley.edu
510-316-5218
Lise Gaston Lise Gaston

lgaston@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Rebecca Gaydos Rebecca Gaydos

rebecca.gaydos@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Brian Gillis Brian Gillis

gillis@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Erin Greer Erin Greer

erin.greer@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Jane Gregory Jane Gregory

jane.gregory@berkeley.edu
(718) 483-5202
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Tim Heimlich Tim Heimlich

331 Wheeler
Summer 2015: W 12-2 and by appointment
theimlich@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Irish
Scottish
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Jacob Hobson Jacob Hobson

jehobson42@gmail.com
Middle English
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Old English
Sharon Hsu Sharon Hsu

sharon.hsu@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Jane Hu Jane Hu

sjh@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
Cultural Studies
Lynn Huang Lynn Huang

331 Wheeler
lynnhuang@berkeley.edu
510-705-2263
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Javier Huerta Javier Huerta

Wheeler 331
Tuesday 12-2
johuerta@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Poetry
Alek M Jeziorek Alek M Jeziorek

331 Wheeler
Wednesday 12:30-2:30
alk@berkeley.edu
Drama
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Christopher Johnson Christopher Johnson

Sarah Jessica Johnson Sarah Jessica Johnson

Wheeler 331
Mon. 12:30-2:30
sarahjessicajohnson@berkeley.edu
Early American
Atlantic
Caribbean
19th-Century American
African American
Tyleen Kelly Tyleen Kelly

400 Wheeler
tyleen@berkeley.edu
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Charity Corine Ketz Charity Corine Ketz

charityketz@gmail.com
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Andrew Key Andrew Key

andrew.key[at]berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Film
Irish
Evan Klavon Evan Klavon

eaklavon@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Linguistics
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Margaret Kolb Margaret Kolb

kolb.margaret@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Matt Langione Matt Langione

331 Wheeler
langione@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Jonathan Larner-Lewis Jonathan Larner-Lewis

TTh 11-12
jlarner[at]berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Micha Lazarus Micha Lazarus

mds.lazarus@berkeley.edu
Serena Le Serena Le

serena.le@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Linguistics
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Amy Lee Amy Lee

amyklee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Richard Z Lee Richard Z Lee

richaz@berkeley.edu
973-715-1388
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Sookyoung (Soo) Lee Sookyoung (Soo) Lee

sookyoung@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Manya Lempert Manya Lempert

mlempert@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Madeline Lesser Madeline Lesser

Rachel Thayer Lewis Rachel Thayer Lewis

Wheeler 331
W 4-6
rthayer.lewis@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Jessica Ling Jessica Ling

jessling@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Aileen Liu Aileen Liu

331 Wheeler
aileen.liu@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Film
Lili Loofbourow Lili Loofbourow

331 Wheeler
lililoof@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jennifer A. Lorden Jennifer A. Lorden

400 Wheeler
jlorden@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
Raphael Magarik Raphael Magarik

rmagarik@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Sarah Mangin Sarah Mangin

Mondays, 10-noon in 331 Wheeler and by appointment
sarahmangin@berkeley.edu
831-234-7220
Renaissance and Early Modern
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Joseph Mansky Joseph Mansky

331 Wheeler Hall
Mon. & Wed., 11AM-12PM, and by appointment
jmansky@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Leila Mansouri Leila Mansouri

lmansouri@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
Early American
19th-Century American
Rosa Angelica Martinez Rosa Angelica Martinez

Visiting Scholar/Pre-Doctoral Fellow at MIT
rosam@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
Ryan McWilliams Ryan McWilliams

331 Wheeler
Tuesdays and Thursdays, 5-6 PM
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Early American
19th-Century American
Christopher Mead Christopher Mead

cmead@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
David D. Menilla David D. Menilla

dmenilla@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Ella Mershon Ella Mershon

331 Wheeler
ellamershon@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Christopher Patrick Miller Christopher Patrick Miller

Wheeler 331
Wednesday 11am to 1pm
christopherpmiller@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Jasmin Miller Jasmin Miller

400 Wheeler
MT 1-2pm
jasminmiller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Stephanie Anne Moore Stephanie Anne Moore

stephaniemoore@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Ismail Muhammad Ismail Muhammad

331 Wheeler
M & W, 12-1
imuhammad@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Lauren Naturale Lauren Naturale

lnaturale@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Slavica Naumovska Slavica Naumovska

Ph.D. Candidate/ Lectures and Events Coordinator
slavica@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
Scottish
18th-Century British
Allison Neal Allison Neal

Wheeler 331
Tues 12-2
aneal@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rose Nguyen Rose Nguyen

rosenguyen@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Megan O'Connor Megan O'Connor

Wheeler 331
M2-3 F11-12
mocon@berkeley.edu
(206) 484-2544
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Trudy Obi Trudy Obi

400 Wheeler
gobi@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Linguistics
Poetry
Gillian K. Osborne Gillian K. Osborne

gillian osborne
gkosborne@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
R. D. Perry R. D. Perry

331 Wheeler (also check 400)
M 1-2; W 4-5
rdperry@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
Samia Shabnam Rahimtoola Samia Shabnam Rahimtoola

srahimtoola@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh

srajabzadeh@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Matthew Eric Ramirez Matthew Eric Ramirez

TuTh 3:30-5, 331 Wheeler
mer2234@berkeley.edu
956-451-1368
Drama
Linguistics
Robert L Reyes Robert L Reyes

rlreyes@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Michelle Ripplinger Michelle Ripplinger

ripplinger@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
Jocelyn Rodal Jocelyn Rodal

jocelyn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Mark JR Scott Mark JR Scott

mark.scott@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Andrea Yolande Seeger Andrea Yolande Seeger

dreaseeger@gmail.com
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
Jonathan Shelley Jonathan Shelley

jshelley@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Lucy Sirianni Lucy Sirianni

331 Wheeler
MW 1-2 and by appointment
lucysirianni@earthlink.net
Atlantic
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Early American
African American
Native American
19th-Century American
Monica Soare Monica Soare

monicasoare@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Film
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Claire Marie Stancek Claire Marie Stancek

TTh 10:30-11:30
cm.stancek@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Charisse Stephens Charisse Stephens

c.stephens@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Scottish
18th-Century British
Spencer Strub Spencer Strub

Wheeler 400
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Poetry
Khalil Sullivan Khalil Sullivan

400 Wheeler
T/Th 2:00 - 3:00 pm
khalil.sullivan@gmail.com
Creative Writing
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
David Swensen David Swensen

ds395@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Bradford Alden Taylor Bradford Alden Taylor

bradfordtaylor@berkeley.edu
Office Hours: M 11:30-1:30 and by appointment
bradfordtaylor@berkeley.edu
443-350-6149
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rasheed Tazudeen Rasheed Tazudeen

r.tazudeen@gmail.com
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Luke Terlaak Poot Luke Terlaak Poot

luketerlaak@berkeley.edu
415-734-0759
Drama
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Textual Criticism
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Ian M. Thomas-Bignami Ian M. Thomas-Bignami

331 Wheeler
ianthomasbignami@berkeley.edu
510-325-2506
Poetry
18th-Century British
Jason Benjamin Trevino Jason Benjamin Trevino

jbtrevino@gmail.com
210-288-7040
Rachel Trocchio Rachel Trocchio

2015 | Barra Dissertation Fellow | McNeil Center for Early American Studies, UPenn, &
2014-15 | New England Regional Consortium Fellow
r.trocchio@gmail.com
Atlantic
Early American
Michelle Ty Michelle Ty

michellety@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Daniel Valella Daniel Valella

dvalella@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Native American
David Conigliaro Vandeloo David Conigliaro Vandeloo

WF: 3-4, cafe babette
dcvandeloo@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
José Villagrana José Villagrana

josev@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Atti Viragh Atti Viragh

aviragh@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Sophia Wang Sophia Wang

sfw@berkeley.edu
Joshua J Weiner Joshua J Weiner

OH at Musical Offering Cafe, 2430 Bancroft
Wed 4-6
jjweiner@berkeley.edu
415-602-5223
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
18th-Century British
Brandon White Brandon White

Doctoral Candidate
brandonw[at]berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Karen Williams Karen Williams

karen.m.williams@gmail.com
Evan Wilson Evan Wilson

400 Wheeler
Monday 1-2PM; Thursday 2-3PM; by appointment
e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu
Mary Wilson Mary Wilson

Wheeler 331
wednesday & friday, 10-11
mgriffin@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Diana Catherine Wise Diana Catherine Wise

Gabriella Wyatt Gabriella Wyatt

gcwyatt@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin

By Appointment
wendy.xin@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irene Yoon Irene Yoon

Caffe Strada
Wednesdays 2-4pm
irene.yoon@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Mia You Mia You

miayou@gmail.com
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Rosetta Young Rosetta Young

Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Esther Yu Esther Yu

331 Wheeler
Wed. 3:00-4:30; Fri 1:30-2:00
estheryu@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Isaac Zisman Isaac Zisman

331 Wheeler
Friday 1-2pm and by appointment
isaac.zisman [at] berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British