Berkeley English Faculty


FILTER:
Elizabeth Abel

Elizabeth Abel

Professor

Zoom
By appointment on Zoom
eabel@berkeley.edu

Charles F. Altieri

Charles F. Altieri

Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
Not teaching but available for office hours by appointment.
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244

no photo uploaded yet

Oliver Arnold

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 236
M and W, 2:15-3:15
oarnold@berkeley.edu

Sukanya  Banerjee

Sukanya Banerjee

Associate Professor

433 Wheeler
Wednesdays and Thursdays, 1:30-3:00 p.m. Please email for Zoom apointments.
sbanerjee20@berkeley.edu

Stephen M. Best

Stephen M. Best

Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 407
Friday, 10:00-12:00, by appointment
sbest@berkeley.edu

C. D. Blanton

C. D. Blanton

Associate Professor; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
By appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
TTh 2-3:30pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu

Vikram Chandra

Vikram Chandra

Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
MW 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu

Mark Danner

Mark Danner

Professor
Class of 1961 Chair in Undergraduate Education

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com

Kathleen Donegan

Kathleen Donegan

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Office Hours by appointment
kdonegan@berkeley.edu

Ian Duncan

Ian Duncan

Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

Fall 2020: Zoom room
Tues., Thurs. 2:30-4:00: email me for an appointment
iduncan@berkeley.edu

Nadia Ellis

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor

452 Wheeler Hall
FA 2020: Tues 1:30-3:30; sign up at link below
nellis@berkeley.edu

Eric Falci

Eric Falci

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Fall 2020: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu

Thomas Farber

Thomas Farber

Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
by appt only
tfar@berkeley.edu

Catherine Flynn

Catherine Flynn

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
By appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu

Anne-Lise Francois

Anne-Lise Francois

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
W 3-6 and by appt. (Spring 2019)
afrancoi@berkeley.edu

Joshua Gang

Joshua Gang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
M/W 4-5pm and by appt.
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu

Cecil S. Giscombe

Cecil S. Giscombe

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Fall 2020: Wednesdays 2:30 to 5:30, other times as well, all via Zoom. Text 814-571-0429 for a Zoom invitation.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
814-571-0429

Mark Goble

Mark Goble

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu

Steven Goldsmith

Steven Goldsmith

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Fall 2020, Tuesday 3-5; Friday 11-12
sgsmith@berkeley.edu

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator

Wheeler Hall 462
On leave from teaching; Office Hours by Appointment
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Marcial Gonzalez

Marcial Gonzalez

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
On leave 2020-21, no office hours
marcial@berkeley.edu

Kevis Goodman

Kevis Goodman

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
F2020: Thurs. 5-6 pm and Fri. 12-2 pm. Students in Engl. 45A and 118, directions on syllabus & bCourses for signup and drop-in. All others: please email me!
kgoodman@berkeley.edu

Dorothy J. Hale

Dorothy J. Hale

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
I am on sabbatical from July 1, 2020 through January 1, 2021.
dhale@berkeley.edu

Kristin Hanson

Kristin Hanson

Professor

Fall 2020 office hours will be via Zoom only
W 3:30-5:00 by appointment only
khanson@berkeley.edu

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
By appointment only
abduljm@berkeley.edu

Donna V. Jones

Donna V. Jones

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Sabbatical 2020-21
dvjones@berkeley.edu

Steven Justice

Steven Justice

Professor and Chair

322 Wheeler Hall
By appointment. Contact me (sjustice@berkeley.edu) or John McChesney-Young (jmccyoung@berkeley.edu)
sjustice@berkeley.edu

Victoria Kahn

Victoria Kahn

Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

Office hours on Zoom
Wed. 10-12
vkahn@berkeley.edu

Georgina Kleege

Georgina Kleege

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Fall 2020: please email for an appointment. Current students can call or text me.
gkleege@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Knapp

Jeffrey Knapp

Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English
Chair, Department of Film and Media

Wheeler Hall, room 401
By appt. (no in-person hours)
jknapp@berkeley.edu

David Landreth

David Landreth

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Fall 2020: by appointment.
dlandreth@berkeley.edu

Celeste Langan

Celeste Langan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
M 3-5; also by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu

Grace Lavery

Grace Lavery

Associate Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
Wednesday, 9.30 - 11.30 (email for appointment)
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu

Steven S. Lee

Steven Lee

Associate Professor

https://calendly.com/stevenlee-1/officehours
Fall 2020: Tues., 1-3 pm, Wed., 3:15-4:15 pm
stevenlee@berkeley.edu

Andrew Way Leong

Andrew Way Leong

Assistant Professor

404 Wheeler
By appointment
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu

Colleen Lye

Colleen Lye

Associate Professor

427 Wheeler Hall
Office Hours Thurs 10-12 . Held online. Sign up at: https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/enhbu. For other times, email professor directly.
clye@berkeley.edu

David Marno

David Marno

Associate Professor

Zoom
Fri 12:15-2:15, for sign-up, click here
marno@berkeley.edu

Fiona McFarlane

Fiona McFarlane

Associate Professor

Please email for Zoom details
Tuesday & Thursday 2.30-4pm
fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Miller

Jennifer Miller

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 414
j_miller@berkeley.edu

Maura Nolan

Maura Nolan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Spring, 2020: Tuesdays, 4:30-6:00
mnolan@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Geoffrey G. O'Brien

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Fridays 10am-12pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu

Samuel Otter

Samuel Otter

Professor; Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English Literature

Office hours via Zoom
Mon. 1-2:30 pm and Tues. 4-5:30 pm. Please email me to make an appointment.
sotter@berkeley.edu

Genaro M. Padilla

Genaro M. Padilla

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Joanna M Picciotto

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
OH by appt
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu

Kent Puckett

Kent Puckett

Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
by appointment
kpuckett@berkeley.edu

Poulomi Saha

Poulomi Saha

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
By appointment https://calendly.com/psaha/office-hours
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com

Scott Saul

Scott Saul

Professor

(Zoom for now)
M 2-3, Th 10-11 and by appointment (email for Zoom link)
ssaul@berkeley.edu

Susan Schweik

Susan Schweik

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
W 1:30-3:30
sschweik@berkeley.edu

John Shoptaw

John Shoptaw

Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Tuesdays noon till 3
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu

Katherine Snyder

Katherine Snyder

Associate Professor

409 Wheeler Hall
Email me to make an appointment for Zoom/phone office hours
ksnyder@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Janet Sorensen

Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesays 2-4 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu

George A. Starr

George A. Starr

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu

Elisa Tamarkin

Elisa Tamarkin

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Please email for an appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu

James Grantham Turner

James Grantham Turner

James D Hart Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 333
not teaching, but welcomes emails
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749

Bryan Wagner

Bryan Wagner

Associate Professor

Please email for an appointment
bwagner@berkeley.edu

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
By appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu

Dora Zhang

Dora Zhang

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
T/Th 3.45pm - 4.45pm
dyzhang@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Jasper Bernes

Jasper Bernes

Lecturer

Wheeler 421
by appointment
bernes@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Cho

Jennifer Cho

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Virtual Office Hours (by appointment)
jenniferc@berkeley.edu

Frank Eugene Cruz

Frank Eugene Cruz

Lecturer

Zoom
TBA
cruz@berkeley.edu

Jason de Stefano

Jason de Stefano

Berkeley Lecturer

Free Speech Cafe
Mon. 4–5, Wed. 3–4
jasond@berkeley.edu

Dena Fehrenbacher

Dena Fehrenbacher

John and Daria Barry Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow

dfehrenbacher@berkeley.edu

Srijani  Ghosh

Srijani Ghosh

Lecturer

Zoom Office Hours during Fall 2020
Mon & Wed 1:00-2:00 pm and by appointment
srijani@berkeley.edu

Michelle Koerner

Michelle Koerner

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu

Ryan McWilliams

Ryan McWilliams

421 Wheeler
Th 5:30-6:30 and by appt.
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu

Jesse Nathan

Jesse Nathan

Lecturer

Wheeler 475
jznathan@berkeley.edu

Amy Rowland

Amy Rowland

Lecturer

amyrowland@berkeley.edu

Spencer Strub

Spencer Strub

spencer.strub@berkeley.edu

David Walter

David Walter

Lecturer

4405 Dwinelle
Friday 3:15-5 or by appt.
davywalter@berkeley.edu

Hannah Zeavin

Hannah Zeavin

Lecturer

443 Wheeler Hall
hzeavin@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Joel B. Altman

Joel B. Altman

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu

Julia Bader

Julia Bader

Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu

Ann Banfield

Ann Banfield

Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150

Robert Bloom

Robert Bloom

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Stephen Booth

Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu

Mitchell Breitwieser

Mitchell Breitwieser

Professor Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 420
mitchb@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carol T. Christ

Emerita
Eleventh Chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley

chancellor@berkeley.edu

Frederick C. Crews

Frederick C. Crews

Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Richard Feingold

Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu

Catherine Gallagher

Catherine Gallagher

Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

237 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu

Robert L. Hass

Robert L. Hass

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu

Lyn Hejinian

Lyn Hejinian

Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 406
by appointment
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu

Richard Hutson

Richard Hutson

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Maxine Hong Kingston

Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu

Donald McQuade

Donald McQuade

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu

D.A. Miller

D.A. Miller

John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and formerly Professor of the Graduate School

damiller@berkeley.edu

Alan H. Nelson

Alan H. Nelson

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu

John Niles

John Niles

Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Emerita

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Spring 2019: W 10:00-12:00
kobok@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Raymond Oliver

Emeritus

Morton D. Paley

Morton D. Paley

Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carolyn Porter

Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Ishmael S. Reed

Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528

Peter D. Scott

Peter D. Scott

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com