Berkeley English Faculty


FILTER:
Elizabeth Abel

Elizabeth Abel

Professor and John F. Hotchkis Chair in English

By appointment on Zoom
eabel@berkeley.edu

Hilton Als

Hilton Als

Teaching Professor

no photo uploaded yet

Oliver Arnold

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 236
Email for appointment.
oarnold@berkeley.edu

Sukanya  Banerjee

Sukanya Banerjee

Associate Professor

433 Wheeler
Please email for appointment.
sbanerjee20@berkeley.edu

Stephen M. Best

Stephen M. Best

Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 407
By appointment (send an email to schedule)
sbest@berkeley.edu

C. D. Blanton

C. D. Blanton

Associate Professor; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Wednesday, 2-5 p.m. (virtual), or by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu

Vikram Chandra

Vikram Chandra

Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu

John Alba Cutler

John Alba Cutler

Associate Professor

406 Wheeler
jalbacutler@berkeley.edu

Mark Danner

Mark Danner

Professor
Class of 1961 Distinguished Chair in Undergraduate Education

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com

Kathleen Donegan

Kathleen Donegan

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Sabbatical 2021-2022
kdonegan@berkeley.edu

Ian Duncan

Ian Duncan

Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English
English Department Chair, 2021-22

456 Wheeler
Office hours: By appointment [email me]
iduncan@berkeley.edu

Nadia Ellis

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor

452 Wheeler Hall
On sabbatical leave AY 2021-22

Eric Falci

Eric Falci

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
On Sabbatical, July 2021-June 2022
efalci@berkeley.edu

Thomas Farber

Thomas Farber

Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
by appt only
tfar@berkeley.edu

Catherine Flynn

Catherine Flynn

Associate Professor, Affiliate of the Program in Critical Theory, Director of Berkeley Connect in English, and Director of Irish Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 454
On sabbatical 2021-2022
cflynn@berkeley.edu

Anne-Lise Francois

Anne-Lise Francois

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
afrancoi@berkeley.edu

Joshua Gang

Joshua Gang

Associate Professor

Wheeler 412
Fall 2021 TBA
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu

Cecil S. Giscombe

Cecil S. Giscombe

Professor and Robert Hass Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Office Hours on Zoom are 2-5 Wednesdays. Other times by appointment. Text 814-571-0429 for a Zoom invitation.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
814-571-0429

Mark Goble

Mark Goble

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu

Steven Goldsmith

Steven Goldsmith

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
On Sabbatical 2021-22
sgsmith@berkeley.edu

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 462
Office Hours: W 9:30-11:00 via Zoom
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Marcial Gonzalez

Marcial Gonzalez

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
marcial@berkeley.edu

Kevis Goodman

Kevis Goodman

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Weds. 3-4:30 in 477 Wheeler and Fridays 1-2:45 (Zoom). If you cannot make these, email for a different appointment. Weds OH are drop in. Friday OH are by Zoom (sign up:https://www.wejoinin.com/kgoodman@berkeley.edu)
kgoodman@berkeley.edu

Sara Guyer

Sara Guyer

Professor and Dean, Arts and Humanities

seguyer@berkeley.edu
510 642-3331

Dorothy J. Hale

Dorothy J. Hale

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Office Hours: in person Wednesdays 2:00-3:00 starting Sept 1. Email for Zoom appointment.
dhale@berkeley.edu

Kristin Hanson

Kristin Hanson

Professor

khanson@berkeley.edu

Donna V. Jones

Donna V. Jones

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
dvjones@berkeley.edu

Steven Justice

Steven Justice

Professor

334 Wheeler Hall
On sabbatical, Fall 2021
sjustice@berkeley.edu

Victoria Kahn

Victoria Kahn

Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

vkahn@berkeley.edu

Georgina Kleege

Georgina Kleege

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Mondays noon -3, or by appointment. Email for zoom appointment.
gkleege@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Knapp

Jeffrey Knapp

Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
On sabbatical
jknapp@berkeley.edu

David Landreth

David Landreth

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Fall 2021: Tue and Thu 10:30-12:00
dlandreth@berkeley.edu

Celeste Langan

Celeste Langan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
(Zoom) M 3-4, W 11-12; also by appt. Email for Zoom meeting #.
clangan@berkeley.edu

Grace Lavery

Grace Lavery

Associate Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
Email for appointment.

Steven S. Lee

Steven Lee

Associate Professor

https://calendly.com/stevenlee-1/officehours
Fall 2021: 9-11 am (zoom only)
stevenlee@berkeley.edu

Andrew Way Leong

Andrew Way Leong

Assistant Professor

404 Wheeler
By appointment
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu

Colleen Lye

Colleen Lye

Associate Professor

427 Wheeler Hall
W or F 2:30-4:15 pm & by appt. Sign-up at: https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/sckwp
clye@berkeley.edu

David Marno

David Marno

Associate Professor

419 Wheeler
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu

Fiona McFarlane

Fiona McFarlane

Associate Professor

Wheeler 413
fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Miller

Jennifer Miller

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 414
j_miller@berkeley.edu

Maura Nolan

Maura Nolan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
mnolan@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Geoffrey G. O'Brien

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
By appt. (Zoom)
gobrien@berkeley.edu

Samuel Otter

Samuel Otter

Professor; Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

232 Wheeler
Weds. 3:15-4:15 pm in 232 Wheeler; Thurs. 4-5 pm via Zoom (email for link); and by appointment
sotter@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Joanna M Picciotto

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu

Kent Puckett

Kent Puckett

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
Thursdays, 10-2 (in-person and online, see signup link below)
kpuckett@berkeley.edu

Poulomi Saha

Poulomi Saha

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
By appointment https://calendly.com/psaha/office-hours-1
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com

Scott Saul

Scott Saul

Professor

ssaul@berkeley.edu

Susan Schweik

Susan Schweik

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
On Sabbatical Fall 2021
sschweik@berkeley.edu

John Shoptaw

John Shoptaw

Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu

Katherine Snyder

Katherine Snyder

Associate Professor
Director of Berkeley Connect in English

409 Wheeler Hall
Mon and Wed 3-4 pm, and by appt.
ksnyder@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Janet Sorensen

Professor

432 Wheeler
jsorensen@berkeley.edu

Elisa Tamarkin

Elisa Tamarkin

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Please email for an appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu

James Grantham Turner

James Grantham Turner

James D Hart Professor

Wheeler Hall 333
MW 2:15-3:15 or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
5106422749

Bryan Wagner

Bryan Wagner

Professor

Office: 416 Wheeler
Appointments: bit.ly/ucbbwoa
bwagner@berkeley.edu

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
By appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu

Dora Zhang

Dora Zhang

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
dyzhang@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Balthazar I. Beckett

Balthazar I. Beckett

Lecturer

WF, 10-11am; F, 12-1pm
balthazar@berkeley.edu

Jasper Bernes

Jasper Bernes

Lecturer

Wheeler 421
by appointment
bernes@berkeley.edu

Alex Catchings

Alex Catchings

Berkeley Lecturer

acatchings@berkeley.edu

Leslie Jacoby

Leslie Jacoby

Lecturer

443 Wheeler
drljacoby@berkeley.edu

Michelle Koerner

Michelle Koerner

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu

Ruby Lowe

Ruby Lowe

Postdoctoral Fellow

473 Wheeler
Tuesdays 10-11
rrlowe@berkeley.edu

Jesse Nathan

Jesse Nathan

Lecturer

Wheeler 475
jznathan@berkeley.edu

Magdalena Ostas

Magdalena Ostas

Lecturer

mostas@berkeley.edu

Robert L Reyes

Robert L Reyes

Berkeley Lecturer

rlreyes@berkeley.edu

Amy Rowland

Amy Rowland

Lecturer

amyrowland@berkeley.edu

Lucy Sirianni

Lucy Sirianni

Berkeley Lecturer

421 Wheeler
Tu/Th 12:30-1:30 or by appointment
lucysirianni@gmail.com

Atti Viragh

Atti Viragh

Berkeley Lecturer

By appointment
aviragh@berkeley.edu

David Walter

David Walter

Lecturer

4405 Dwinelle
Friday 3:15-5 or by appt.
davywalter@berkeley.edu

Hannah Zeavin

Hannah Zeavin

Lecturer

443 Wheeler Hall
hzeavin@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Charles F. Altieri

Charles F. Altieri

Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
altieri@berkeley.edu
510-334-4244

Joel B. Altman

Joel B. Altman

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu

Julia Bader

Julia Bader

Emerita

234 Wheeler
By appointment
baderj@berkeley.edu

Ann Banfield

Ann Banfield

Emerita

banfield@berkeley.edu

Robert Bloom

Robert Bloom

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu

Mitchell Breitwieser

Mitchell Breitwieser

Professor Emeritus

mitchb@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carol T. Christ

Emerita
Eleventh Chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley

chancellor@berkeley.edu

Frederick C. Crews

Frederick C. Crews

Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Richard Feingold

Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu

Catherine Gallagher

Catherine Gallagher

Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

237 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu

Robert L. Hass

Robert L. Hass

Emeritus

By appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu

Lyn Hejinian

Lyn Hejinian

Emerita

by appointment
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu

Richard Hutson

Richard Hutson

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
By appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
By appointment only
abduljm@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Maxine Hong Kingston

Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu

Donald McQuade

Donald McQuade

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu

D.A. Miller

D.A. Miller

John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and formerly Professor of the Graduate School

damiller@berkeley.edu

Alan H. Nelson

Alan H. Nelson

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu

John Niles

John Niles

Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Emerita

kobok@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Raymond Oliver

Emeritus

Genaro M. Padilla

Genaro M. Padilla

Professor

gpadilla@berkeley.edu

Morton D. Paley

Morton D. Paley

Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carolyn Porter

Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Ishmael S. Reed

Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528

Peter D. Scott

Peter D. Scott

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com

George A. Starr

George A. Starr

Professor

336 Wheeler
gastarr@berkeley.edu