Berkeley English Faculty


FILTER:
Elizabeth Abel

Elizabeth Abel

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Wednesday 4:30-6:30 and by appointment
eabel@berkeley.edu

Charles F. Altieri

Charles F. Altieri

Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
Tues 3-5 and by appointment
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244

no photo uploaded yet

Oliver Arnold

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 236
M and W, 2:15-3:15
oarnold@berkeley.edu

Stephen M. Best

Stephen M. Best

Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 404
Wednesday, 2:30-4:30, by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos
sbest@berkeley.edu

C. D. Blanton

C. D. Blanton

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Tuesday, 2-4 p.m., and by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu

Mitchell Breitwieser

Mitchell Breitwieser

Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420
mitchb@berkeley.edu

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
M/W 4-5pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu

Vikram Chandra

Vikram Chandra

Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
Tuesdays and Thursdays, 2:30 PM -- 3:30 PM, and by appointment.
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu

Mark Danner

Mark Danner

Professor Class of 1961 Endowed Chair in Journalism and English

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com

Kathleen Donegan

Kathleen Donegan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Thursday, 1:00 - 3:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu

Ian Duncan

Ian Duncan

Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Spring 2019: M/W 3-4:30; except 2/4, 3/4, 4/1,5/6, when: W 3-6
iduncan@berkeley.edu

Nadia Ellis

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Fridays 12:30-2:30pm; sign up link in bio
nellis@berkeley.edu

Eric Falci

Eric Falci

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Summer 2019: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu

Thomas Farber

Thomas Farber

Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
by appt weds 1:45-2:45 in my office; and weds 6-7 @106 mulford hall
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193

Catherine Flynn

Catherine Flynn

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Wednesdays, 3:10-5:00 p.m., and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu

Anne-Lise Francois

Anne-Lise Francois

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
W 3-6 and by appt. (Spring 2019)
afrancoi@berkeley.edu

Joshua Gang

Joshua Gang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Spring 2019: Friday, 1030am-12pm and by appointment
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu

Cecil S. Giscombe

Cecil S. Giscombe

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
by appointment
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu

Mark Goble

Mark Goble

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
TTh 2-3 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu

Steven Goldsmith

Steven Goldsmith

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Spring 2019 Tuesday 5:15-6:30; Friday 10:30-12
sgsmith@berkeley.edu

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 462
OH Mon. 2-3, Thurs. 3:40-5
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Marcial Gonzalez

Marcial Gonzalez

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Office Hours: Wed 3:15-5:30pm
marcial@berkeley.edu

Kevis Goodman

Kevis Goodman

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
kgoodman@berkeley.edu

Dorothy J. Hale

Dorothy J. Hale

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
dhale@berkeley.edu

Kristin Hanson

Kristin Hanson

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
For the remainder of Fall 2018 by appointment only.
khanson@berkeley.edu

Robert L. Hass

Robert L. Hass

Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu

Lyn Hejinian

Lyn Hejinian

John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
Wednesdays 2-4
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
M & W 3:30 - 5:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu

Donna V. Jones

Donna V. Jones

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Mon 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu

Steven Justice

Steven Justice

Professor and Chair

322 Wheeler Hall
By appointment. Contact me (sjustice@berkeley.edu) or Grace de Guzman (acadhr_english@berkeley.edu)
sjustice@berkeley.edu

Victoria Kahn

Victoria Kahn

Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
On sabbatical Spring 2019
vkahn@berkeley.edu

Georgina Kleege

Georgina Kleege

Senior Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Spring 2019: Tuesdays 11-3
gkleege@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Knapp

Jeffrey Knapp

Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
Friday 1-3 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu

David Landreth

David Landreth

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Spring 2019: Tues. 9:30-11:30 and Weds. 10-11
dlandreth@berkeley.edu

Celeste Langan

Celeste Langan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
M 11:30-1:30; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu

Grace Lavery

Grace Lavery

Assistant Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
tbc in the Fall
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu

Steven S. Lee

Steven Lee

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
On Sabbatical, AY 2018-19
stevenlee@berkeley.edu

Andrew Way Leong

Andrew Way Leong

Assistant Professor

475 Wheeler
W 2:30-3:30pm, F 4-5pm
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu

Colleen Lye

Colleen Lye

Associate Professor

433 Wheeler Hall
Office hours: by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu

David Marno

David Marno

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Miller

Jennifer Miller

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 414
j_miller@berkeley.edu

Maura Nolan

Maura Nolan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Spring, 2019; Mondays 2-4
mnolan@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Geoffrey G. O'Brien

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
T/TH 2:00-3:30pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Spring 2019: W 10:00-12:00
kobok@berkeley.edu

Samuel Otter

Samuel Otter

Professor

232 Wheeler Hall
Spring 2019 Office Hours: Weds. 4:30-6pm; Thurs. 3:00-4:30pm
sotter@berkeley.edu

Genaro M. Padilla

Genaro M. Padilla

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Joanna M Picciotto

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
OH CHANGE: MW 230-4
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu

Kent Puckett

Kent Puckett

Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
Friday, 9-11am
kpuckett@berkeley.edu

Poulomi Saha

Poulomi Saha

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
By appointment only
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com

Scott Saul

Scott Saul

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
W 1:30-2:30, F 1:15-2:15 and by appointment
ssaul@berkeley.edu

Susan Schweik

Susan Schweik

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
M 1-3
sschweik@berkeley.edu

C. Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Spring 2019 by appointment

John Shoptaw

John Shoptaw

Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 12-2, T 11-12 & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu

Katherine Snyder

Katherine Snyder

Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Spring 2019, MW 3-4 pm and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Janet Sorensen

Professor

432 Wheeler
Thursdays 1:30-3:30
jsorensen@berkeley.edu

George A. Starr

George A. Starr

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu

Elisa Tamarkin

Elisa Tamarkin

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Tuesday, 2:15-3:15; Thursday, 3:00-4:00
tamarkin@berkeley.edu

James Grantham Turner

James Grantham Turner

Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
Wednesdays 3-4:30pm, also welcomes emails and can meet by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749

Bryan Wagner

Bryan Wagner

Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Wed 3-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
By appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu

Dora Zhang

Dora Zhang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
dyzhang@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Christopher Chamberlin

Christopher Chamberlin

University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 473
cechamberlin@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Cho

Jennifer Cho

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Mondays 9:30am-11am and by appointment
jenniferc@berkeley.edu

Jesse Cordes Selbin

Jesse Cordes Selbin

Postdoctoral Lecturer

j.c.s@berkeley.edu

CFS Creasy

CFS Creasy

Lecturer

Wheeler 421
Wed 11:00-1:00
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu

Rebecca Gaydos

Rebecca Gaydos

Lecturer

Wheeler 443

Jacob Hobson

Jacob Hobson

Lecturer

474 Wheeler
OH M 11-12, and by appointment
jehobson@berkeley.edu

Michelle Koerner

Michelle Koerner

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu

Jasmin Miller

Jasmin Miller

Lecturer

421 Wheeler
T 1:00-3:00pm

no photo uploaded yet

Joyce Carol Oates

Visiting Professor

2-3 pm Wednesday & by appointment after 6 pm Wednesday

no photo uploaded yet

Hannah Zeavin

Lecturer

hzeavin@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Joel B. Altman

Joel B. Altman

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu

Julia Bader

Julia Bader

Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu

Ann Banfield

Ann Banfield

Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150

John Bishop

John Bishop

Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu

Robert Bloom

Robert Bloom

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Stephen Booth

Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carol T. Christ

Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu

Frederick C. Crews

Frederick C. Crews

Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Richard Feingold

Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Donald M. Friedman

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu

Catherine Gallagher

Catherine Gallagher

Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu

Richard Hutson

Richard Hutson

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Maxine Hong Kingston

Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu

Donald McQuade

Donald McQuade

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu

D.A. Miller

D.A. Miller

John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
damiller@berkeley.edu

Alan H. Nelson

Alan H. Nelson

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu

John Niles

John Niles

Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu

Morton D. Paley

Morton D. Paley

Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carolyn Porter

Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Ishmael S. Reed

Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528

Peter D. Scott

Peter D. Scott

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com

Robert Tracy

Robert Tracy

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu