Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Mon 2-5, Weds 2-3
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
Fall 2017: not in residence
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 410
W 1-3
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 404
by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos=
sbest@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Co-Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Tuesday, 2-4 p.m., or by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Mon and Wed 2:30-3:30 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
M 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm; T 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM; and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
CFS Creasy CFS Creasy
Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 421
T/Th 3:30-4:30 by appointment
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 473 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Hours by appointment. Fall 2017: not in residence.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 11:00-1:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Native American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2017: not in residence. Visiting Professor, Humanities Council, Princeton University
iduncan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Tuesdays 2:30pm-4:30pm | Abe's Cafe, Euclid Ave
nellis@berkeley.edu
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Atlantic
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Fall 2017: Fridays 9-11 a.m. and by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
3:00-3:30 and 6:30-8 Tues, 2017
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Wednesdays, 3-5 p.m. and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Narrative & the Novel
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Fall 2017: M/W, 350pm-450pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Drama
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Fall 2016. Thursdays, 12:30-3. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
F 2017 W 4:15-5:30; F 1-2
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Amanda Jo Goldstein Amanda Jo Goldstein
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 462
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Wed 3:15pm - 5:30pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Fridays, 12:30-2 pm and by appointment
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Poetry
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Starting August 29, 2017: Tuesdays, 3-5
dhale@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Kathleen L. Haley Kathleen L. Haley
Visiting Scholar

kathleen.haley1@gmail.com
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
TuTh 1:45-2:45 p.m. and 5:15-5:45 by appointment only
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
Thurs 3:45-5:45 or by appointment
lynhejinian@gmail.com
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Jacob Hobson Jacob Hobson


421 Wheeler
OH: 11-12, at FSM
jehobson@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Old English
Textual Criticism
Middle English
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 236
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
African American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
Wed 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
African
Caribbean
Narrative & the Novel
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 334
Monday, 3:00-5:00pm
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Fall 2017: not in residence
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
MW 3:00-4:00 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Film
Poetry
Cultural Studies
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
no photo uploaded yet Michelle Koerner


Margaret Kolb Margaret Kolb
Lecturer in English

Babette Cafe, BAM
Thursday,1:30 - 3.30
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Fall 2017: by appointment: please email me at
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
Tues. 5-6, Fri. 1-3
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jos Lavery Jos Lavery
Assistant Professor

442 Wheeler Hall
MW, 3 - 4
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Pacific
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor; Faculty Equity Officer

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
(Fall 2017) Tuesdays, 9:30 am - 12:30 pm
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
Atlantic
Asian American
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 433
Office hours by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
David Marno David Marno
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
MW 4-5 and by appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
Critical Theory
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
By appointment
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Drama
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Professor

Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
T/TH, 330-5pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
kobok@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Old English
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 232
On leave during Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 semesters
sotter@berkeley.edu
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor and Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 323
By appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
Tues 4-6
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
Tuesdays, 4-6pm
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Critical Theory
Film
19th-Century British
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 443
MW 2-3 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
South Asian
Asian American
no photo uploaded yet Maria Saldaña
Visiting Associate Professor

josie.saldana@berkeley.edu
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
Wednesday, 11:30-1:30
ssaul@berkeley.edu
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
20th- and 21st-Century American
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Fall 2017 TuTh 5-6.30pm
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 2-3, W 11:30-12:30, & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Giovanni Singleton
Holloway Fellow

gsingleton@berkeley.edu
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Tuesdays, 2-3:30 and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesdays 11-12:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Fall 2017: sabbatical in residence. Tuesday 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Tuesday and Thursday, 3:30-4:30, and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Early American
Atlantic
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
M 2-4, or by appointment
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Poetry
Cultural Studies
Linguistics
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
TTh 2-3:30 or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
18th-Century British
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Tue 3:30-4 / Thu 3:30-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

423 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Irene Yoon-Milner Irene Yoon-Milner
Berkeley Lecturer

Stephens Hall 360-J
Wednesdays 3-5pm
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 475
On leave 2016-7
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Linguistics
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
M 3-5
damiller@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Film
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Scottish
Old English
Poetry
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Irish
19th-Century British
Drama
Narrative & the Novel