Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

C31 Hearst Annex
T/Th 3:45-5:15
eabel@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

D29N Hearst Annex
tues 2:10 -- 4:10
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

B34 Hearst Annex
W 1-3
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Stephanie M Bahr Stephanie M Bahr
Postdoctoral Fellow

HFA Building C
Tuesday 11-12 & by appointment
stephaniebahr@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Film
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
Drama
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor

B24 Hearst Annex
by appointment - please email
sbest@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
African American
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Co-Chair, Program in Critical Theory

B32 Hearst Annex
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jeffrey Blevins Jeffrey Blevins
Lecturer

Tuesdays 12:30-2:30 in Cafe Nefeli
jblevins@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Textual Criticism
20th- and 21st-Century British
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

C48 Hearst Annex
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

B52 Hearst Annex
Mon and Wed 2:30-3:30 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

B52 Hearst Annex
TTh 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm, and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 473 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Hours by appointment.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

64 Hearst Annex, Building B
Wednesday, 1:30-3:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Native American
Early American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2017: not in residence. Visiting Professor, Council for the Humanities, Princeton University
iduncan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Scottish
18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

B58 Hearst Annex
Wednesdays 11:30a-1pm | Cafe Strada, Bancroft Ave.
nellis@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Caribbean
African American
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

B56 Hearst Annex
Spring 2017: Tuesdays, 1:30-3:30
efalci@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Irish
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

D29A Hearst Annex
3:00-3:30 and 6:30-8 Tues, 2017
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

C34 Hearst Annex
by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Irish
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

B54 Hearst Annex
Spring 2015: ON LEAVE
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poetry
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

C44 Hearst Annex
Spr2017: Mondays 230pm-430pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Linguistics
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

C62 Hearst Annex
Fall 2016. Thursdays, 12:30-3. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

C11 Hearst Annex
MW 11-12 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

C63 Hearst Annex
Spring 2016 T 3:30-4:30; F 12:30-2:00
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
19th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Amanda Jo Goldstein
Assistant Professor

ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

C51 Hearst Annex
Thurs 3:45-6:15pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

C12 Hearst Annex
Weds. 3:30-5 pm and Fri. 1-2:30 pm
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

4113 Dwinelle
Office Hours: By Appointment
dhale@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Kathleen L. Haley Kathleen L. Haley
Visiting Scholar

kathleen.haley1@gmail.com
Textual Criticism
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

C17 Hearst Annex
TuTh 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

C65 Hearst Annex
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

C64 Hearst Annex
by appointment
lynhejinian@gmail.com
Poetry
Creative Writing
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

D21B Hearst Annex
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
African American
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

C52 Hearst Annex
Wed 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Chancellor's Professor

D21A Hearst Annex
Tuesday 10am-12pm in 694 Barrows Hall
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

D29E Hearst Annex
Summer 2017, by appointment
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

B26 Hearst Annex
Friday 12:30-2:30 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Cultural Studies
Film
Drama
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

C53 Hearst Field Annex
Office hours, Spring 2017: Thursdays 12:30 - 3:30, HFA lawn (if sunny) or HFA C53 (if dreary)
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

C54 Hearst Field Annex
Tuesdays 9-11; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Joseph Lavery Joseph Lavery
Assistant Professor

C35 Hearst Field Annex
Monday, 3 - 5
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
Cultural Studies
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor; Faculty Equity Officer

C55 Hearst Field Annex
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Asian American
Atlantic
African American
Pacific
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

D25G Hearst Field Annex
Wed 2-3 pm drop in; and by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Asian American
David Marno David Marno
Assistant Professor

C45 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
no photo uploaded yet Katherine Mezur
Lecturer

D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

D29 Hearst Field Annex
M 3-5
damiller@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

C15 Hearst Field Annex
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

B22 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Professor

Office Hours: 3-3:30 and 6:30-7, immediately before and after class in 203 Wheeler
Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

C16 Hearst Field Annex
Fridays, 2-5pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
T, W 10-11
kobok@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Old English
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

D25D Hearst Field Annex
By appointment. Please email.
sotter@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Early American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor and Chair

B38 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
R. D. Perry R. D. Perry
Postdoctoral Fellow

HFA
by appointment
rdperry@berkeley.edu
Old English
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Critical Theory
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

D25F Hearst Field Annex
W 2-5
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Associate Professor

D25E Hearst Field Annex
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Film
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

C36 Hearst Field Annex
MW 2-3 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Asian American
South Asian
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

D29B Hearst Field Annex
Friday 10 am-noon at Cafe Milano
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Drama
Cultural Studies
African American
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

C47 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

HFA courtyard or D29A HFA (email me)
Fri 12:10-2 or so, & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

C32 Hearst Field Annex
By appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Mondays 1-2:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

D29D Hearst Field Annex
336 Wheeler, Tue.-Thur. 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

D29C Hearst Field Annex
by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Early American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

C33 Hearst Field Annex
W 2:30-4, Th 3:30-5
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Old English
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Linguistics
Cultural Studies
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

D29A Hearst Field Annex
by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

D25C Hearst Field Annex
bwagner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
African American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

423 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Native American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Postdoctoral Fellow

Babette
By Appointment Only
wendy.xin@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

C46 Hearst Field Annex
On leave 2016-7
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Linguistics
Critical Theory

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

411 Wheeler
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

233 Wheeler
jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

409 Wheeler
sbooth@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

333 Wheeler Hall
cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

229 Wheeler
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

462 Wheeler
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

D29H Hearst Field Annex
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Poetry
Scottish
Old English
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

uncleish@aol.com
Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
Drama