Berkeley English Faculty


FILTER:
Elizabeth Abel

Elizabeth Abel

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Tuesday 3:30-5:30 and by appointment
eabel@berkeley.edu

Charles F. Altieri

Charles F. Altieri

Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
Remote Office Hours: Monday 3-5
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244

no photo uploaded yet

Oliver Arnold

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 236
M and W, 2:15-3:15
oarnold@berkeley.edu

Stephen M. Best

Stephen M. Best

Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 407
On leave: 2019-2020
sbest@berkeley.edu

C. D. Blanton

C. D. Blanton

Associate Professor; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
By appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu

Mitchell Breitwieser

Mitchell Breitwieser

Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420
mitchb@berkeley.edu

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
TTh 2-3:30pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu

Vikram Chandra

Vikram Chandra

Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
Tuesdays, 3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu

Mark Danner

Mark Danner

Class of 1961 Chair in Undergraduate Education

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com

Kathleen Donegan

Kathleen Donegan

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 1:00-3:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu

Ian Duncan

Ian Duncan

Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Spring 2020: Email me for Skype/Zoom/phone appointment
iduncan@berkeley.edu

Nadia Ellis

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Tuesdays 9:45-11:45am; sign up link in bio
nellis@berkeley.edu

Eric Falci

Eric Falci

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Spring 2020: by appointment. NOTE: as of March 10th, all office hours will take place remotely. Please email me to set up a time to meet.
efalci@berkeley.edu

Thomas Farber

Thomas Farber

Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
by appt only
tfar@berkeley.edu

Catherine Flynn

Catherine Flynn

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
By appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu

Anne-Lise Francois

Anne-Lise Francois

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
W 3-6 and by appt. (Spring 2019)
afrancoi@berkeley.edu

Joshua Gang

Joshua Gang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
SPR 2020: Tue, 1115am-1215pm; academic advising: Thur, 1115am-1215pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu

Cecil S. Giscombe

Cecil S. Giscombe

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Spring 2020--Tuesdays, 1:30-4:30, other times by appointment
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
814-571-0429

Mark Goble

Mark Goble

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
W2-4 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu

Steven Goldsmith

Steven Goldsmith

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Spring 2020, Tuesday 2-4
sgsmith@berkeley.edu

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator

Wheeler Hall 462
On leave from teaching; Office Hours by Appointment
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Marcial Gonzalez

Marcial Gonzalez

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Spring Office Hours: Wed 2:15-4:15pm
marcial@berkeley.edu

Kevis Goodman

Kevis Goodman

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
As of March 16, all meetings have to be remote. Please email me for Zoom or phone appointment
kgoodman@berkeley.edu

Dorothy J. Hale

Dorothy J. Hale

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Office hours suspended until after spring vacation. Please email me to set up a phone call.
dhale@berkeley.edu

Kristin Hanson

Kristin Hanson

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
TuTh 5:00-6:00 pm
khanson@berkeley.edu

Lyn Hejinian

Lyn Hejinian

John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
by appointment
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
By appointment only
abduljm@berkeley.edu

Donna V. Jones

Donna V. Jones

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Wed 12-3
dvjones@berkeley.edu

Steven Justice

Steven Justice

Professor and Chair

322 Wheeler Hall
By appointment. Contact me (sjustice@berkeley.edu) or John McChesney-Young (jmccyoung@berkeley.edu)
sjustice@berkeley.edu

Victoria Kahn

Victoria Kahn

Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Wed. 3:30-5
vkahn@berkeley.edu

Georgina Kleege

Georgina Kleege

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 463
please email for an appointment. Current students can call or text me.
gkleege@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Knapp

Jeffrey Knapp

Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
By appt. (no in-person hours)
jknapp@berkeley.edu

David Landreth

David Landreth

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Spring 2020: Weds 12:00-1:30 and 3:00-4:30. Sign up for a Zoom or Chat appointment via bCourses or via email.
dlandreth@berkeley.edu

Celeste Langan

Celeste Langan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
T12-1, TH 3:30-4:30; also by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu

Grace Lavery

Grace Lavery

Associate Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
Tuesday 1 - 3
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu

Steven S. Lee

Steven Lee

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
Spring 2020: By appointment
stevenlee@berkeley.edu

Andrew Way Leong

Andrew Way Leong

Assistant Professor

404 Wheeler
By appointment
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu

Colleen Lye

Colleen Lye

Associate Professor

427 Wheeler Hall
Office Hours M 2:30-3:30 pm drop in by Zoom (email me to set up instant Zoom meeting); and by appt
clye@berkeley.edu

David Marno

David Marno

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu

Fiona McFarlane

Fiona McFarlane

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, 413
Thursday 2-5 and by appointment
fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Miller

Jennifer Miller

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 414
j_miller@berkeley.edu

Maura Nolan

Maura Nolan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Spring, 2020: Tuesdays, 4:30-6:00
mnolan@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Geoffrey G. O'Brien

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Fridays 9-11am
gobrien@berkeley.edu

Samuel Otter

Samuel Otter

Professor

Please email me to make an appointment to speak via Zoom.
Spring 2020 Office Hours: Weds. 12:10-1:10 pm; Fri. 1:50-2:50 pm; and by appointment.
sotter@berkeley.edu

Genaro M. Padilla

Genaro M. Padilla

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Joanna M Picciotto

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
OH BY APPOINTMENT ONLY (ZOOM)
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu

Kent Puckett

Kent Puckett

Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
by appointment
kpuckett@berkeley.edu

Poulomi Saha

Poulomi Saha

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
R 2-3 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com

Scott Saul

Scott Saul

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
W 1:30-2:30, Th 10-noon
ssaul@berkeley.edu

Susan Schweik

Susan Schweik

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
W 1:30-3:30
sschweik@berkeley.edu

C. Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Spring 2020 M 3-6pm (ZOOM ONLY; SIGN-UP LINK UNDER PROFESSIONAL STATEMENT)

John Shoptaw

John Shoptaw

Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Tuesdays noon till 3
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu

Katherine Snyder

Katherine Snyder

Associate Professor

409 Wheeler Hall
Email me to make an appointment for Zoom/phone office hours
ksnyder@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Janet Sorensen

Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesays 2-4 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu

George A. Starr

George A. Starr

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu

Elisa Tamarkin

Elisa Tamarkin

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Monday, 4:30-5:30; Wednesday, 1:00-2:00; and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu

James Grantham Turner

James Grantham Turner

James D Hart Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 333
not teaching, but welcomes emails and can meet by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749

Bryan Wagner

Bryan Wagner

Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
bwagner@berkeley.edu

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
By appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu

Dora Zhang

Dora Zhang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
T/Th 3.45pm - 4.45pm
dyzhang@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Jasper Bernes

Jasper Bernes

Lecturer

421 Wheeler
Wednesday 1:30-4:30
bernes@berkeley.edu

Christopher Chamberlin

Christopher Chamberlin

University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 473
cechamberlin@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Cho

Jennifer Cho

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wednesdays 10am-12pm and by appointment
jenniferc@berkeley.edu

Dena Fehrenbacher

Dena Fehrenbacher

John and Daria Barry Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow

dfehrenbacher@berkeley.edu

Srijani  Ghosh

Srijani Ghosh

Lecturer

443 Wheeler
Mon & Wed 3:00-4:00 pm and by appointment
srijani@berkeley.edu

Marianne Kaletzky

Marianne Kaletzky

Lecturer

475 Wheeler
Wednesday 2-4 p.m.
kaletzky@berkeley.edu

Michelle Koerner

Michelle Koerner

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu

Farid Matuk

Farid Matuk

Holloway Visiting Professor of Poetry & Poetics

Wheeler 433
matuk@berkeley.edu

Ryan McWilliams

Ryan McWilliams

421 Wheeler
Th 5:30-6:30 and by appt.
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu

Jesse Nathan

Jesse Nathan

Lecturer

Wheeler 475
jznathan@berkeley.edu

Amy Rowland

Amy Rowland

Lecturer

amyrowland@berkeley.edu

Spencer Strub

Spencer Strub

Wheeler 400
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu

David Walter

David Walter

Lecturer

4405 Dwinelle
Friday 3:15-5 or by appt.
davywalter@berkeley.edu

Evan Wilson

Evan Wilson

421 Wheeler
Tuesday 2-3pm; Wednesday 2:15-3:15pm
e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Hannah Zeavin

Lecturer

443 Wheeler Hall
hzeavin@berkeley.edu


FILTER:
Joel B. Altman

Joel B. Altman

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu

Julia Bader

Julia Bader

Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu

Ann Banfield

Ann Banfield

Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150

John Bishop

John Bishop

Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu

Robert Bloom

Robert Bloom

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Stephen Booth

Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carol T. Christ

Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu

Frederick C. Crews

Frederick C. Crews

Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Richard Feingold

Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu

Catherine Gallagher

Catherine Gallagher

Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

237 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu

Robert L. Hass

Robert L. Hass

Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu

Richard Hutson

Richard Hutson

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Maxine Hong Kingston

Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu

Donald McQuade

Donald McQuade

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu

D.A. Miller

D.A. Miller

John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and formerly Professor of the Graduate School

damiller@berkeley.edu

Alan H. Nelson

Alan H. Nelson

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu

John Niles

John Niles

Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Spring 2019: W 10:00-12:00
kobok@berkeley.edu

Morton D. Paley

Morton D. Paley

Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Carolyn Porter

Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu

no photo uploaded yet

Ishmael S. Reed

Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528

Peter D. Scott

Peter D. Scott

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com