Berkeley English Graduate Students

Interests
Adrian Mark Acu Adrian Mark Acu

Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Adam Ahmed Adam Ahmed

Critical Theory
Poetry
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
Joseph Albernaz Joseph Albernaz

2017-2018 Townsend Center Dissertation Fellow
albernaz@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Edward Sterling Alexander Edward Sterling Alexander

20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Critical Theory
Joshua Adam Anderson Joshua Adam Anderson

joshuaanderson@berkeley.edu
(510) 828-7001
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Ernest T. Artiz Ernest T. Artiz

Cafe Blue Door
M & W 12-1
eartiz@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century British
Caribbean
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
South Asian
Ariel Baker-Gibbs Ariel Baker-Gibbs

arielbg@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Andrew John Barbour Andrew John Barbour

abarbour@berkeley.edu
8284063565
18th-Century British
Poetry
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Daniel Benjamin Daniel Benjamin

Babette Cafe
Thursday 10am-12pm
dbenjamin@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Katherine Isabel Bondy Katherine Isabel Bondy

kbondy@berkeley.edu
Early American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Brandon Callender Brandon Callender

brandon.callender@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Alex Catchings Alex Catchings

acatchings@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Shannon Chamberlain Shannon Chamberlain

18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Scottish
Cheng-Chai Chiang Cheng-Chai Chiang

ccchiang@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Pacific
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Jeehyun Choi Jeehyun Choi

jhchoi@berkeley.edu
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Amy Clark Amy Clark

amy.w.clark@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Linguistics
Cultural Studies
Old English
Rebecca Clark Rebecca Clark

rbclark42@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Nathan Cohan Nathan Cohan

ncohan@berkeley.edu
Jesse Cordes Selbin Jesse Cordes Selbin

Doctoral Candidate and Berkeley Connect Fellow
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo

johainakbc@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Pacific
Caribbean
Frank Eugene Cruz Frank Eugene Cruz

PhD Candidate, R&C Instructor
Cafe Milano
M 10-11, 12-1 and Th 11-1
frankcru@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Patrick  Delehanty Patrick Delehanty

patrick_delehanty@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Jason de Stefano Jason de Stefano

Ph.D. Candidate; Huntington Library Fellow, 2017–18
jasond@berkeley.edu
African American
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Early American
Rosalind Diaz Rosalind Diaz

331 Wheeler
W 12:30-1:30 and by appt.
rosalind.diaz@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Aristides Dimitriou Aristides Dimitriou

Office Hours (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018):
Wheeler Hall #331, by appt.
dimitriou@berkeley.edu
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Katherine Ding Katherine Ding

331 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2017: Wednesday noon-1:30
katherine.ding@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Critical Theory
Miles Drawdy Miles Drawdy

Blue Door Cafe
Wed. 1:30-3:30
msdrawdy@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Cultural Studies
Eliot D'Silva Eliot D'Silva

Poetry
Creative Writing
Alex Dumont Alex Dumont

331 Wheeler
By appointment
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Atlantic
19th-Century British
Leo Dunsker Leo Dunsker

dunsker@berkeley.edu
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel

hke@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
Early American
Emma Eisenberg Emma Eisenberg

331 Wheeler
Thursdays, 2-4 pm, and by appointment
eceisenberg@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Gabrielle Elias Gabrielle Elias

gelias@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Kathryn  Fleishman Kathryn Fleishman

PhD Candidate & GSI
HFA D33
Mon 2-3:30
Film
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Native American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Imogen Forbes-Macphail Imogen Forbes-Macphail

iforbes-macphail@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Dylan Furcall

dylan_furcall@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Nikolas Gable

ngable@berkeley.edu
Lise Gaston Lise Gaston

Wheeler 331
Tues 9-11 am
lgaston@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
Brian Gillis Brian Gillis

Native American
Linguistics
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Erin Greer Erin Greer

Wheeler Hall 331
MW 3:30-4:30
erin.greer@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Jane Gregory Jane Gregory

Office Hours (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018): Wheeler 331, by appointment
jane.gregory@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Timothy Heimlich Timothy Heimlich

331 Wheeler
Spring 2018: M 10-12 and by appointment
theimlich@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Irish
Scottish
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Bernardo S. Hinojosa Bernardo S. Hinojosa

b.hinojosa@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Old English
Middle English
Katherine Hobbs Katherine Hobbs

katherine_hobbs@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Marian Homans-Turnbull Marian Homans-Turnbull

331 Wheeler Hall
Fridays, 1:30-3:30
marianhomansturnbull@berkeley.edu
Old English
Middle English
Scottish
Cultural Studies
Sharon Hsu Sharon Hsu

Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Jane Hu Jane Hu

331 Wheeler
F 2-4, and by appt
sjh@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Film
Sarah Jessica Johnson Sarah Jessica Johnson

PhD Candidate
sarahjessicajohnson@berkeley.edu
Early American
Atlantic
African American
Caribbean
19th-Century American
Tyleen Louise Kelly Tyleen Louise Kelly

331 Wheeler
19th-Century British
Irish
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Charity Corine Ketz Charity Corine Ketz

Critical Theory
Poetry
Creative Writing
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Andrew Key Andrew Key

PhD Candidate
19th-Century British
Film
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Mehak Khan

mehak@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
South Asian
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Evan Klavon Evan Klavon

Wheeler 331
Tue 2:30-3:30 & By Appointment
eaklavon@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Creative Writing
Linguistics
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jonathan Larner-Lewis Jonathan Larner-Lewis

TTh 11-12
Poetry
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Jessica Laser Jessica Laser

jessica_laser@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
Creative Writing
Serena Le Serena Le

Poetry
19th-Century British
Linguistics
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Richard Z Lee Richard Z Lee

Free Speech Movement Café
T/R 10:00-11:00
Drama
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Madeline Lesser

Wheeler 331
Mon. 3-5
madeline.lesser@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Poetry
19th-Century British
Rachel Thayer Lewis Rachel Thayer Lewis

Wheeler 331
T 12-1
rthayer.lewis@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Jessica Ling Jessica Ling

19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Aileen Liu Aileen Liu

Assistant Pedagogy Coordinator
331 Wheeler
By appointment
aileen.liu@berkeley.edu
Film
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jennifer A. Lorden Jennifer A. Lorden

231 Wheeler
Thurs 2-4
jlorden@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Middle English
Old English
Cultural Studies
Raphael Magarik Raphael Magarik

rmagarik@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Sarah Mangin Sarah Mangin

T/Th 11:00-12:00 in Wheeler 331, and by appointment

8312347220
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Cultural Studies
Joseph Mansky Joseph Mansky

jmansky@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Leila Mansouri Leila Mansouri

Creative Writing
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Early American
Ryan McWilliams Ryan McWilliams

Pat Brown's CA Cafe
Th 4-5 and by appt.
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Early American
Christopher Patrick Miller Christopher Patrick Miller

Wheeler 331
Wednesday 11am to 1pm
Poetry
Film
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Jasmin Miller Jasmin Miller

400 Wheeler
W 11-12pm, 1-2pm
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht

331 Wheeler
Thursday 12:30-2:30
vvm@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Stephanie Anne Moore Stephanie Anne Moore

Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Ismail Muhammad Ismail Muhammad

331 Wheeler
M & W, 1-2
imuhammad@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Allison Neal Allison Neal

Tues 2-4
aneal@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Garreth O'Brien

Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Megan O'Connor Megan O'Connor

mocon@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Kevin Ogunniyi Kevin Ogunniyi

Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Creative Writing
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
Critical Theory
Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh

srajabzadeh@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Matthew Eric Ramirez Matthew Eric Ramirez

TuTh 3:30-5, 331 Wheeler
mer2234@berkeley.edu
956-451-1368
Linguistics
Drama
Gerard Ramm Gerard Ramm

gerardramm@berkeley.edu
Native American
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
African American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Angus Reid

angusreid@berkeley.edu
Pacific
African American
Asian American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Robert L Reyes Robert L Reyes


760.285.3181
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Sarah Sands Rice Sarah Sands Rice

Wheeler 331
Mondays, 9:30-11:30 am
sarahsandsrice@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Michelle Ripplinger Michelle Ripplinger

Cafe Blue Door
W 9:30-10:30am, and by appt.
ripplinger@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Middle English
Laura Ritland Laura Ritland

laura_ritland@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jared Robinson Jared Robinson

jmrobin@berkeley.edu
African American
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jocelyn Rodal Jocelyn Rodal

Poetry
Critical Theory
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Maia Yvette Rodriguez Maia Yvette Rodriguez

maia_rodriguez@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
South Asian
Mark JR Scott Mark JR Scott

mark.scott@berkeley.edu
5105994450
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Andrea Yolande Seeger Andrea Yolande Seeger

African American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Early American
Jonathan Shelley Jonathan Shelley

Renaissance and Early Modern
Lucy Sirianni Lucy Sirianni

331 Wheeler
Mondays and Fridays 11:15 to 12:15 and by appointment
lucysirianni@gmail.com
Native American
19th-Century American
African American
Atlantic
Early American
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Claire Marie Stancek Claire Marie Stancek

TTh 10:30-11:30
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
Max Stevenson Max Stevenson

Nefeli Caffè
M 9:30-11:30
max.stevenson@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Irish
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Spencer Strub Spencer Strub

Wheeler 400
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Abigail Struhl

abigail_struhl@berkeley.edu
Amanda Su Amanda Su

amandajsu@berkeley.edu
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Khalil Sullivan Khalil Sullivan

400 Wheeler
T/Th 2:00 - 3:00 pm
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Catherine Marcia Sulpizio Catherine Marcia Sulpizio

catesulpizio@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Poetry
Emily Sutton Emily Sutton

emilysutton@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
David Swensen David Swensen

ds395@berkeley.edu
Drama
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Bradford Alden Taylor Bradford Alden Taylor

bradfordtaylor@berkeley.edu
Office Hours: M 11:30-1:30 and by appointment

443-350-6149
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Luke Terlaak Poot Luke Terlaak Poot


415-734-0759
Cultural Studies
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Drama
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Textual Criticism
Alba Tomsula y Garcia Alba Tomsula y Garcia

albat@uchicago.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Jason Benjamin Trevino Jason Benjamin Trevino

Ph.D. Candidate & GSI
5:00-6:00 p.m., Wheeler 331
jbtrevino@gmail.com
210-288-7040
Alexander Ullman Alexander Ullman

alexanderjayullman@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Irish
Daniel Valella Daniel Valella

Ph.D. Candidate
Berkeley Connect Fellow in English
dvalella@berkeley.edu
African American
Native American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
no photo uploaded yet Lizzie Vinyard Boyle

evb@berkeley.edu
Atti Viragh Atti Viragh

aviragh@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Alex Walton Alex Walton

walton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jacob Wang Jacob Wang

jacob.wang@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Evan Wilson Evan Wilson

231 Wheeler
Monday 1-2PM; Thursday 11AM-12PM; by appointment
e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu
Mary Wilson Mary Wilson

Wheeler 331
Tu/Th 3:30-4:30
mgriffin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Diana Catherine Wise

dwise@berkeley.edu
Gabriella Wyatt Gabriella Wyatt

Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
no photo uploaded yet Rudi Yniguez

rudi_yniguez@berkeley.edu
Rosetta Young Rosetta Young

19th-Century British
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Creative Writing
18th-Century British
Esther Yu Esther Yu

estheryu@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern