Berkeley English Graduate Students

Interests
Adrian Mark Acu Adrian Mark Acu

20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Joshua Adam Anderson Joshua Adam Anderson

Cafe Milano
T, Th 1-2 pm
joshuaanderson@berkeley.edu
(510) 828-7001
Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Ernest T. Artiz Ernest T. Artiz

Cafe Blue Door
M & W 12-1
eartiz@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Caribbean
South Asian
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Ariel Baker-Gibbs Ariel Baker-Gibbs

arielbg@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Andrew John Barbour Andrew John Barbour

Doctoral Candidate
Office hours: Wed. 2-3 and by appointment
abarbour@berkeley.edu
8284063565
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Daniel Benjamin Daniel Benjamin

dbenjamin@berkeley.edu
African American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Jason George Bircea Jason George Bircea

jasonbircea@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Katherine Isabel Bondy Katherine Isabel Bondy

331 Wheeler
Wed, 11-12:45pm; by appt.
Early American
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Brandon Callender Brandon Callender

brandon.callender@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Alex Catchings Alex Catchings

acatchings@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
African American
19th-Century American
Cheng-Chai Chiang Cheng-Chai Chiang

ccchiang@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century British
Drama
Critical Theory
Jeehyun Choi Jeehyun Choi

jhchoi@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Pacific
Asian American
최 Lindsay  ||  Lindsay Chloe Choi 최 Lindsay || Lindsay Chloe Choi

choi.lindsaychloe@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Disability Studies
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Amy Clark Amy Clark

231 Wheeler
Wednesdays and Fridays 3-4
amy.w.clark@berkeley.edu
Old English
Middle English
Linguistics
Cultural Studies
Nathan Cohan Nathan Cohan

ncohan@berkeley.edu
Jesse Cordes Selbin Jesse Cordes Selbin

Doctoral Candidate
Teaching Consultant, GSI Teaching & Resource Center
Office hours: Tues. 3:30-4:30 and by appointment
j.c.s@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo

johainakbc@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Caribbean
Creative Writing
Pacific
Frank Eugene Cruz Frank Eugene Cruz

PhD Candidate, R&C Instructor
Cafe Milano
Mon 12-1 & Wed 10 - 11
frankcru@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Patrick  Delehanty Patrick Delehanty

patrick_delehanty@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jason de Stefano Jason de Stefano

Mabelle McLeod Lewis Memorial Fund Fellow, 2018–2019
jasond@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Early American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
African American
Rosalind Diaz Rosalind Diaz

331 Wheeler
W 12:30-1:30 and by appt.
rosalind.diaz@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Katherine Ding Katherine Ding

People's Cafe (61 Shattuck Ave)
Fall 2018: Monday 12:30-1:30 and by appointment
katherine.ding@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Drama
Critical Theory
Poetry
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Miles Drawdy Miles Drawdy

Cafe Blue Door
Tuesdays, 9:00-10:00
msdrawdy@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Eliot D'Silva Eliot D'Silva

Poetry
Creative Writing
Alex Dumont Alex Dumont

331 Wheeler
By appointment
Atlantic
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Leo Dunsker Leo Dunsker

OH: Tues 3-4, Wheeler 331
dunsker@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel

hke@berkeley.edu
Early American
Drama
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Emma Eisenberg Emma Eisenberg

331 Wheeler
Mondays 1-3 pm, and by appointment
eceisenberg@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Gabrielle Elias Gabrielle Elias

gelias@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Kathryn  Fleishman Kathryn Fleishman

PhD Candidate & GSI
HFA D33
Mon 2-3:30
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Imogen Forbes-Macphail Imogen Forbes-Macphail

Wheeler 331
11am-1pm, Fridays
iforbes-macphail@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Dylan Furcall

dylan_furcall@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Nikolas Gable

ngable@berkeley.edu
Londiwe Gamedze Londiwe Gamedze

londi@berkeley.edu
African
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
African American
Lise Gaston Lise Gaston

Wheeler 331
Office hours by appointment
lgaston@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Creative Writing
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
no photo uploaded yet Christopher Geary

cgeary@berkeley.edu
Jane Gregory Jane Gregory

Office Hours (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018): Wheeler 331, by appointment
jane.gregory@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Timothy Heimlich Timothy Heimlich

2018-2019 Starkey Fellow
331 Wheeler
Office Hours: 1:30-3:30 Tuesdays and by appointment
theimlich@berkeley.edu
Irish
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
18th-Century British
Scottish
Bernardo S. Hinojosa Bernardo S. Hinojosa

231 Wheeler
Mondays 11-12 & Thursdays 1-2
b.hinojosa@berkeley.edu
Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
Katherine Hobbs Katherine Hobbs

katherine_hobbs@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Marian Homans-Turnbull Marian Homans-Turnbull

PhD Candidate
231 Wheeler
MW 11:15-12:15
marianhomansturnbull@berkeley.edu
Old English
Middle English
Scottish
Cultural Studies
Jane Hu Jane Hu

Wheeler 331
M 10-10:30; F 4-5; and by appointment
sjh@berkeley.edu
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
John Patrick James John Patrick James

jjames@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Libby Kao Libby Kao

libbykao@berkeley.edu
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Pacific
Tyleen Louise Kelly Tyleen Louise Kelly

331 Wheeler
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Andrew Key Andrew Key

PhD Candidate
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Film
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Mehak Faisal Khan Mehak Faisal Khan

PhD Student
mehak[at]berkeley[dot]edu
Critical Theory
South Asian
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Evan Klavon Evan Klavon

Wheeler 331
Tue 2:30-4:00 & By Appointment
eaklavon@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Irish
Poetry
Linguistics
Creative Writing
Jessica Laser Jessica Laser

jessica_laser@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Serena Le Serena Le

20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Linguistics
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Madeline Lesser

Wheeler 331
Mon. 3-5
madeline.lesser@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
19th-Century British
Poetry
18th-Century British
Aileen Liu Aileen Liu

Assistant Pedagogy Coordinator
331 Wheeler
By appointment
aileen.liu@berkeley.edu
Film
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Raphael Magarik Raphael Magarik

rmagarik@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ryan McWilliams Ryan McWilliams

331 Wheeler
M 2:15-3:15 and by appt.
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Early American
Narrative & the Novel
Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht

330 Wheeler
Monday 10:10-12
vvm@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Ismail Muhammad Ismail Muhammad

331 Wheeler
M & W, 2:30-3:30
imuhammad@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Allison Neal Allison Neal

Tues 1:30-3:30
aneal@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rebecca Maria  Nieto Rebecca Maria Nieto

r_e_b_e_c_c_a@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Jesse Nyiri

jesse_nyiri@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Garreth O'Brien

331 Wheeler Hall
Thursday 12-1, Friday 10-11
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Film
Megan O'Connor Megan O'Connor

331 Wheeler
W3-4 / F2-3
mocon@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Kevin Ogunniyi Kevin Ogunniyi

Middle English
Creative Writing
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh

1951 Coffee Company
Tues: 2-4pm
srajabzadeh@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Cultural Studies
Matthew Eric Ramirez Matthew Eric Ramirez

TuTh 3:30-5, 331 Wheeler
mer2234@berkeley.edu
956-451-1368
Drama
Linguistics
Gerard Ramm Gerard Ramm

gerardramm@berkeley.edu
Native American
African American
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Angus Reid Angus Reid

angusreid@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Robert L Reyes Robert L Reyes

rlreyes@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Sarah Sands Rice Sarah Sands Rice

sarahsandsrice@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Michelle Ripplinger Michelle Ripplinger

ripplinger@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Middle English
Laura Ritland Laura Ritland

Wheeler 331
MW 11-12
laura_ritland@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Jared Robinson Jared Robinson

jmrobin@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Maia Yvette Awi Rodriguez Maia Yvette Awi Rodriguez

Wheeler 331
Wednesday 2 PM- 3 PM
maia_rodriguez@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Native American
Caribbean
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Early American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Narrative & the Novel
Mark JR Scott Mark JR Scott

mark.scott@berkeley.edu
4156942841
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Joseph Serrano Joseph Serrano

jdserrano@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
Jonathan Shelley Jonathan Shelley

Renaissance and Early Modern
Lucy Sirianni Lucy Sirianni

331 Wheeler
Mondays and Fridays 11:15 to 12:15 and by appointment
lucysirianni@gmail.com
African American
19th-Century British
Atlantic
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Early American
19th-Century American
Native American
Max Stevenson Max Stevenson

Nefeli Caffè
M 9:30-11:00
max.stevenson@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Middle English
Old English
Textual Criticism
Irish
Spencer Strub Spencer Strub

Wheeler 400
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Abigail Struhl

abigail_struhl@berkeley.edu
Amanda Jennifer Su Amanda Jennifer Su

amandajsu@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Pacific
Catherine Marcia Sulpizio Catherine Marcia Sulpizio

catesulpizio@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Emily Sutton Emily Sutton

Wheeler 331
M 10:30-11:30, Th 3:30-4:30
emilysutton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
David Swensen David Swensen

ds395@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Alba Tomasula y Garcia Alba Tomasula y Garcia

Free Speech Cafe
Tuesday 2:00-4:00 PM
albat@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Alexander Torres

alexander_torres@berkeley.edu
Jason Benjamin Trevino Jason Benjamin Trevino

Ph.D. Candidate & GSI
5:00-6:00 p.m., Wheeler 331
jbtrevino@gmail.com
210-288-7040
Alexander Ullman Alexander Ullman

Office Hours Wheeler Room 331
Thursday 12:30-1:30
alexanderjayullman@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Daniel Valella Daniel Valella

Ph.D. Candidate
dvalella@berkeley.edu
Asian American
African American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Native American
no photo uploaded yet Lizzie Vinyard Boyle

evb@berkeley.edu
Atti Viragh Atti Viragh

Ph.D. Candidate
M/W, 3:30-4:30
aviragh@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century British
Alex Walton Alex Walton

Wheeler 331
Tuesday 10-11
walton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Jacob Wang Jacob Wang

jacob.wang@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Noah Warren

noah_warren@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Evan Wilson Evan Wilson

231 Wheeler
Tuesday 2-3pm; Wednesday 2:15-3:15pm
e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu
Mary Wilson Mary Wilson

Wheeler 331
M/W 11-12
mgriffin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
no photo uploaded yet Diana Catherine Wise

dwise@berkeley.edu
Gabriella Wyatt Gabriella Wyatt

Poetry
Drama
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Rudi Yniguez Rudi Yniguez

rudi_yniguez@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Rosetta Young Rosetta Young

18th-Century British
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Esther Yu Esther Yu

estheryu@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British