Berkeley English Graduate Students

Interests
Adrian Mark Acu Adrian Mark Acu

Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Adam Ahmed Adam Ahmed

Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
Critical Theory
Poetry
Joseph Albernaz Joseph Albernaz

2017-2018 Townsend Center Dissertation Fellow
albernaz@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Edward Sterling Alexander Edward Sterling Alexander

Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Joshua Adam Anderson Joshua Adam Anderson

joshuaanderson@berkeley.edu
(510) 828-7001
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Ernest T. Artiz Ernest T. Artiz

Cafe Blue Door
M & W 12-1
eartiz@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Caribbean
South Asian
Ariel Baker-Gibbs Ariel Baker-Gibbs

arielbg@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Film
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Andrew John Barbour Andrew John Barbour

abarbour@berkeley.edu
8284063565
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
Poetry
Daniel Benjamin Daniel Benjamin

dbenjamin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Katherine Isabel Bondy Katherine Isabel Bondy

kbondy@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Early American
Brandon Callender Brandon Callender

brandon.callender@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Alex Catchings Alex Catchings

acatchings@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Shannon Chamberlain Shannon Chamberlain

Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Cheng-Chai Chiang Cheng-Chai Chiang

ccchiang@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
Pacific
Drama
Critical Theory
Jeehyun Choi Jeehyun Choi

jhchoi@berkeley.edu
Pacific
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Amy Clark Amy Clark

amy.w.clark@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Linguistics
Middle English
Old English
Rebecca Clark Rebecca Clark

rbclark42@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
19th-Century American
Nathan Cohan Nathan Cohan

ncohan@berkeley.edu
Jesse Cordes Selbin Jesse Cordes Selbin

Doctoral Candidate
Berkeley Connect Fellow
Teaching Consultant, GSI Teaching & Resource Center
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo Johaina Katinka Basilio Crisostomo

johainakbc@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
Pacific
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Creative Writing
Frank Eugene Cruz Frank Eugene Cruz

PhD Candidate, R&C Instructor
Cafe Milano
M 10-11, 12-1 and Th 11-1
frankcru@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Patrick  Delehanty Patrick Delehanty

patrick_delehanty@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jason de Stefano Jason de Stefano

Huntington Library Fellow, 2017–18
jasond@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Early American
African American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Rosalind Diaz Rosalind Diaz

331 Wheeler
W 12:30-1:30 and by appt.
rosalind.diaz@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Aristides Dimitriou Aristides Dimitriou

Office Hours (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018):
Wheeler Hall #331, by appt.
dimitriou@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Katherine Ding Katherine Ding

331 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2017: Wednesday noon-1:30
katherine.ding@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Drama
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Miles Drawdy Miles Drawdy

msdrawdy@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Cultural Studies
Eliot D'Silva Eliot D'Silva

Creative Writing
Poetry
Alex Dumont Alex Dumont

331 Wheeler
By appointment
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
19th-Century British
Atlantic
Leo Dunsker Leo Dunsker

OH: Tues 3-4, Wheeler 331
dunsker@berkeley.edu
Irish
Critical Theory
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel Hannah Kathryn Ehrlinspiel

hke@berkeley.edu
Early American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Drama
Emma Eisenberg Emma Eisenberg

331 Wheeler
Mondays 2-4 pm, and by appointment
eceisenberg@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Gabrielle Elias Gabrielle Elias

gelias@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Kathryn  Fleishman Kathryn Fleishman

PhD Candidate & GSI
HFA D33
Mon 2-3:30
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
Film
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Imogen Forbes-Macphail Imogen Forbes-Macphail

iforbes-macphail@berkeley.edu
Middle English
19th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Dylan Furcall

dylan_furcall@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Nikolas Gable

ngable@berkeley.edu
Lise Gaston Lise Gaston

Office hours by appointment
lgaston@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Creative Writing
Brian Gillis Brian Gillis

19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Linguistics
Native American
Erin Greer Erin Greer

erin.greer@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Jane Gregory Jane Gregory

Office Hours (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018): Wheeler 331, by appointment
jane.gregory@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Timothy Heimlich Timothy Heimlich

2018-2019 Starkey Fellow
theimlich@berkeley.edu
Scottish
19th-Century British
Irish
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Bernardo S. Hinojosa Bernardo S. Hinojosa

Wheeler 231
Wednesdays 11-12 & Thursdays 1-2
b.hinojosa@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Old English
Poetry
Drama
Middle English
Katherine Hobbs Katherine Hobbs

katherine_hobbs@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Marian Homans-Turnbull Marian Homans-Turnbull

PhD Candidate
marianhomansturnbull@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Scottish
Old English
Sharon Hsu Sharon Hsu

Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Jane Hu Jane Hu

sjh@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Asian American
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
Sarah Jessica Johnson Sarah Jessica Johnson

PhD Candidate
sarahjessicajohnson@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Tyleen Louise Kelly Tyleen Louise Kelly

331 Wheeler
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Charity Corine Ketz Charity Corine Ketz

18th-Century British
Poetry
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Creative Writing
Andrew Key Andrew Key

PhD Candidate
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
Mehak Faisal Khan Mehak Faisal Khan

PhD Student
mehak[at]berkeley[dot]edu
South Asian
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Evan Klavon Evan Klavon

Wheeler 331
Tue 2:30-3:30 & By Appointment
eaklavon@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Linguistics
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Jonathan Larner-Lewis Jonathan Larner-Lewis

TTh 11-12
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jessica Laser Jessica Laser

jessica_laser@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
Creative Writing
Serena Le Serena Le

20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
19th-Century British
Linguistics
Creative Writing
Richard Z Lee Richard Z Lee

Free Speech Movement Café
T/R 10:00-11:00
Drama
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Madeline Lesser

Wheeler 331
Mon. 3-5
madeline.lesser@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
19th-Century British
Rachel Thayer Lewis Rachel Thayer Lewis

Wheeler 331
T 12-1
rthayer.lewis@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Jessica Ling Jessica Ling

Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
19th-Century British
Aileen Liu Aileen Liu

Assistant Pedagogy Coordinator
331 Wheeler
By appointment
aileen.liu@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Film
Drama
Jennifer A. Lorden Jennifer A. Lorden

231 Wheeler
Tues 11:30 - 1:30
jlorden@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
Raphael Magarik Raphael Magarik

rmagarik@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Sarah Mangin Sarah Mangin

T/Th 11:00-12:00 in Wheeler 331, and by appointment

8312347220
Cultural Studies
18th-Century British
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Renaissance and Early Modern
Joseph Mansky Joseph Mansky

jmansky@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Leila Mansouri Leila Mansouri

Narrative & the Novel
Creative Writing
Early American
19th-Century American
Ryan McWilliams Ryan McWilliams

331 Wheeler
Th. 3:45-4:45 and by appt.
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
Early American
Christopher Patrick Miller Christopher Patrick Miller

Wheeler 331
Wednesday 11am to 1pm
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht Veronica Vizuet Mittnacht

331 Wheeler
Thursday 12:30-2:30
vvm@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Stephanie Anne Moore Stephanie Anne Moore

Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
Ismail Muhammad Ismail Muhammad

331 Wheeler
M & W, 1-2
imuhammad@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Allison Neal Allison Neal

Tues 2-4
aneal@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Garreth O'Brien

20th- and 21st-Century British
Film
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Megan O'Connor Megan O'Connor

331 Wheeler
MW 2-3pm
mocon@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Kevin Ogunniyi Kevin Ogunniyi

Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Drama
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Creative Writing
Renaissance and Early Modern
Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh Shokoofeh Rajabzadeh

1951 Coffee Company
Tues: 2-4pm
srajabzadeh@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
Matthew Eric Ramirez Matthew Eric Ramirez

TuTh 3:30-5, 331 Wheeler
mer2234@berkeley.edu
956-451-1368
Drama
Linguistics
Gerard Ramm Gerard Ramm

gerardramm@berkeley.edu
Native American
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Angus Reid Angus Reid

angusreid@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Robert L Reyes Robert L Reyes

rlreyes@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Sarah Sands Rice Sarah Sands Rice

Wheeler 331
Mondays, 9:30-11:30 am
sarahsandsrice@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Michelle Ripplinger Michelle Ripplinger

Cafe Blue Door
W 9:30-10:30am, and by appt.
ripplinger@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Laura Ritland Laura Ritland

laura_ritland@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Jared Robinson Jared Robinson

jmrobin@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Jocelyn Rodal Jocelyn Rodal

Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Maia Yvette Rodriguez Maia Yvette Rodriguez

maia_rodriguez@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Native American
Mark JR Scott Mark JR Scott

mark.scott@berkeley.edu
4156942841
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Andrea Yolande Seeger Andrea Yolande Seeger

Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jonathan Shelley Jonathan Shelley

Renaissance and Early Modern
Lucy Sirianni Lucy Sirianni

331 Wheeler
Mondays and Fridays 11:15 to 12:15 and by appointment
lucysirianni@gmail.com
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Native American
African American
Early American
Atlantic
Max Stevenson Max Stevenson

Nefeli Caffè
W 9:30-11:00
max.stevenson@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Old English
Irish
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Middle English
Spencer Strub Spencer Strub

Wheeler 400
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Abigail Struhl

abigail_struhl@berkeley.edu
Amanda Su Amanda Su

amandajsu@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century British
Khalil Sullivan Khalil Sullivan

400 Wheeler
T/Th 2:00 - 3:00 pm
Creative Writing
Cultural Studies
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Catherine Marcia Sulpizio Catherine Marcia Sulpizio

catesulpizio@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Emily Sutton Emily Sutton

emilysutton@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
David Swensen David Swensen

ds395@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Bradford Alden Taylor Bradford Alden Taylor

bradfordtaylor@berkeley.edu
Office Hours: M 11:30-1:30 and by appointment

443-350-6149
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Luke Terlaak Poot Luke Terlaak Poot


415-734-0759
19th-Century British
Drama
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Alba Tomasula y Garcia Alba Tomasula y Garcia

albat@uchicago.edu
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jason Benjamin Trevino Jason Benjamin Trevino

Ph.D. Candidate & GSI
5:00-6:00 p.m., Wheeler 331
jbtrevino@gmail.com
210-288-7040
Alexander Ullman Alexander Ullman

alexanderjayullman@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Daniel Valella Daniel Valella

Ph.D. Candidate
dvalella@berkeley.edu
Native American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Asian American
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Lizzie Vinyard Boyle

evb@berkeley.edu
Atti Viragh Atti Viragh

aviragh@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century British
Alex Walton Alex Walton

Wheeler 331
Tuesday 10-11
walton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Jacob Wang Jacob Wang

jacob.wang@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Evan Wilson Evan Wilson

231 Wheeler
Tuesday 2pm-3:30pm; by appointment
e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu
Mary Wilson Mary Wilson

Wheeler 331
Tu/Th 3:30-4:30
mgriffin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
no photo uploaded yet Diana Catherine Wise

dwise@berkeley.edu
Gabriella Wyatt Gabriella Wyatt

Critical Theory
Drama
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Rudi Yniguez Rudi Yniguez

rudi_yniguez@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Rosetta Young Rosetta Young

Film
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Creative Writing
19th-Century British
Esther Yu Esther Yu

estheryu@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British