English Faculty
Spring 2020

Instructor Office Hours Office Hours
updated on
Office Contact Courses
Abel, Elizabeth Tuesday 3:30-5:30 and by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 424 eabel@berkeley.edu H195B/2
TTh 2-3:30, 262 Dwinelle
Altieri, Charles F. Hours: Monday 3-5 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 332 altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244
127/1
MWF 1-2, 223 Dwinelle
180L/1
MWF 11-12, 2062 VLSB
Arnold, Oliver M and W, 2:15-3:15 10/2018 Wheeler Hall, room 236 oarnold@berkeley.edu 217/1
TTh 9:30-11, 180 Barrows
Bader, Julia Please contact directly for office hours. 234 Wheeler baderj@berkeley.edu 84/1
Tuesdays 9-12, Note new location: 305 Wheeler
Bernes, Jasper Wednesday 1:30-4:30 09/2013 421 Wheeler bernes@berkeley.edu R1B/15
TTh 8-9:30, 233 Dwinelle
Breitwieser, Mitchell Wheeler Hall, room 420
mitchb@berkeley.edu
166/3
TTh 11-12:30, 2070 VLSB
190/7
TTh 2-3:30, 233 Dwinelle
Chandra, Melanie Abrams TTh 2-3:30pm and by appt 10/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 451 melanieabrams@berkeley.edu 143A/1
MW 9-10:30, 301 Wheeler
Cho, Jennifer Wednesdays 10am-12pm and by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler 443 jenniferc@berkeley.edu R1A/6
MWF 1-2, 279 Dwinelle
R1A/9
MWF 12-1, 174 Barrows
Danner, Mark Please contact directly for office hours. 01/2018 Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism) mark@markdanner.com 166/4
TTh 3:30-5, 240 Mulford
Donegan, Kathleen Monday, 2:45-4:45 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 440 kdonegan@berkeley.edu 130A/1
TTh 11-12:30, 140 Barrows
Duncan, Ian Spring 2019: Tuesdays 2:00-5:00 pm / Wednesdays 2:30-3:30 pm 01/2020 456 Wheeler Hall iduncan@berkeley.edu 165/2
MWF 10-11, note new location: 2062 Valley Life Sciences Building
180T/1
MWF 12-1, 106 Wheeler
Ellis, Nadia Fridays 12:30-2:30pm; sign up link in bio 01/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 452 nellis@berkeley.edu 250/2
Tues. 3:30-6:30, 650 Barrows
Falci, Eric Spring 2020: Tuesday 3-5 and by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 308 efalci@berkeley.edu 126/1
Lectures TTh 2-3 in 20 Barrows + one hour of discussion section per week in 305 Wheeler (sec. 101: F 2-3; sec. 102: F 3-4)
Fehrenbacher, Dena 08/2019 dfehrenbacher@berkeley.edu 165AC/1
TTh 11-12:30, note new location: 301 Wheeler
Flynn, Catherine Wednesdays, 3-4 PM or by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 454 cflynn@berkeley.edu 190/8
TTh 3:30-5, 263 Dwinelle
203/3
TTh 12:30-2, 180 Barrows
Gang, Joshua SPR 2020: Tue, 1115am-1215pm; academic advising: Thur, 1115am-1215pm 01/2020 Wheeler 412 jsgang [at] berkeley.edu 190/5
TTh 9:30-11, 89 Dwinelle
Ghosh, Srijani Mon & Wed 3:00-4:00 pm and by appointment 01/2018 443 Wheeler srijani@berkeley.edu R1A/8
MW 5-6:30, 262 Dwinelle
Giscombe, Cecil S. Fall 2019--Tuesdays, 3-6, other times by appointment 08/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 417 csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
814-571-0429
141/1
MW 5-6:30, 140 Barrows
Goble, Mark W2-4 and by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 411 mgoble@berkeley.edu H195B/1
MW 5-6:30, 263 Dwinelle
Gonzalez, Marcial Office Hours: Fri 12-2pm 10/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 435 marcial@berkeley.edu 137T/1
MWF 1-2, 140 Barrows
Goodman, Kevis Weds. 5-6 pm and Fri., 12-2 pm 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 477 kgoodman@berkeley.edu 165/1
MW 3-4:30, 301 Wheeler
Hale, Dorothy J. Wednesdays 1:30-3 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 335 dhale@berkeley.edu 180N/1
MW 5-6:30, 182 Dwinelle
190/2
MW 12-1:30, 305 Wheeler
Hanson, Kristin TuTh 5:00-6:00 pm 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 426 khanson@berkeley.edu 190/9
TTh 3:30-5, 233 Dwinelle
Jones, Donna V. Tue 12-3 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 410 dvjones@berkeley.edu 125C/1
TTh 9:30-11, 2038 VLSB
180Z/1
TTh 12:30-2, note new location: 141 McCone
Kahn, Victoria Wed. 3:30-5 01/2020 4317 Dwinelle vkahn@berkeley.edu 115B/1
TTh 3:30-5, 206 Dwinelle
Kaletzky, Marianne 10/2019 kaletzky@berkeley.edu R1A/1
MWF 9-10, 263 Dwinelle
R1A/4
MWF 12-1, 31 Evans
Kleege, Georgina Spring 2020, Mondays 10:30-1:30, or by appointment. 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 463 gkleege@berkeley.edu 143N/1
TTh 12:30-2, 186 Barrows
180A/1
Lectures TTh 3:30-4:30 in 300 Wheeler + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 12-1; sec. 102: F 2-3)
Knapp, Jeffrey Friday 1-3 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 401 jknapp@berkeley.edu 117S/1
Lectures TTh 4-5 in 3 LeConte (note new location) + one hour of discussion section per week in 300 Wheeler (sec. 101: F 9-10; sec. 102: F 11-12; sec. 103: F 12-1; sec. 104: F 2-3)
190/6
TTh 12:30-2, 233 Dwinelle
Koerner, Michelle Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano 01/2018 Wheeler 443 koerner@berkeley.edu R1B/1
MWF 9-10, 233 Dwinelle
R1B/4
MWF 11-12, 31 Evans
Landreth, David Office hours, Spring 2020: Weds 12:00-1:30 and 3:00-4:30 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 402 dlandreth@berkeley.edu 28/1
TTh 9:30-11, 106 Wheeler
114B/1
TTh 2-3:30, 140 Barrows
Langan, Celeste T1-2, TH 5-6; by appointment 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 425 clangan@berkeley.edu 246G/1
TTh 2-3:30, 186 Barrows
Lavery, Grace Tuesday 1 - 3 08/2019 434 Wheeler Hall grace.lavery@berkeley.edu 45C/1
Lectures MW 10-11 in 159 Mulford + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 103: Thurs. 1-2; sec. 104: Thurs. 2-3; sec. 105: F 10-11; sec. 106: F 11-12)
172/1
Lectures MW 1-2 in 2060 Valley LSB + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 1-2; sec. 102: F 2-3; sec. 103: W 3-4; sec. 104: W 4-5; sec. 105: F 9-10; sec. 106: F 10-11)
Lye, Colleen M 2:30-3:30 pm & by appt. 01/2020 427 Wheeler Hall clye@berkeley.edu 177/1
MW 10:30-12, 301 Wheeler
250/3
W 3-6, 107 Mulford
Marno, David Th. 3-5 and by appointment (starting 1/27) 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 419 marno@berkeley.edu 26/1
MW 5-6:30, 106 Dwinelle
45A/1
Lectures MW 2-3 in 180 Tan (note new location) + one hour of discussion section per week in 301 Wheeler (sec. 101: F 2-3; sec. 102: F 3-4; sec. 103: Thurs. 10-11; sec. 104: Thurs. 11-12)
McFarlane, Fiona Thursday 2-5 and by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, 413 fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu 180H/1
TTh 11-12:30, 182 Dwinelle
McWilliams, Ryan Th 5:30-6:30 and by appt. 01/2019 421 Wheeler ryanmcw@berkeley.edu 132/1
MWF 2-3, 54 Barrows
Miller, Jennifer 01/2019 Wheeler Hall, Room 414 j_miller@berkeley.edu 104/1
TTh 12:30-2, 2032 VLSB
203/4
Thurs. 3:30-6:30, 186 Barrows
Nolan, Maura Fall, 2019: Wednesdays, 3-6 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 230 mnolan@berkeley.edu 166/7
TTh 2-3:30, 310 Hearst Mining
O'Brien, Geoffrey G. Fridays 9-11am 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 436 gobrien@berkeley.edu 243B/1
W 3-6, 106 Mulford
Otter, Samuel Fall 2019 Office Hours: Tues. 3:00-4:30pm and Thurs. 2:10-3:30pm 08/2019 232 Wheeler Hall sotter@berkeley.edu 27/1
MWF 11-12, 2038 VLSB
Padilla, Genaro M. Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall) 02/2018 Wheeler Hall, room 323 gpadilla@berkeley.edu 166/2
MWF 11-12, 140 Barrows
Picciotto, Joanna M T 4-5 and W 630-830 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 233 jpicciotto@berkeley.edu 118/1
Lectures MW 2-3 in 56 Barrows + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec.101: F 1-2; sec. 102: F 2-3)
190/4
MW 5-6:30, 233 Dwinelle
Puckett, Kent Friday, 9-11am 01/2019 Wheeler Hall, Room 403 kpuckett@berkeley.edu 160/1
Thurs. 2-5, 83 Dwinelle
246H/1
F 9-12, 301 Wheeler
Saha, Poulomi R 2-3 & by appointment 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 455 psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com
24/2
Tuesdays 2-3, 305 Wheeler
80K/1
TTh 12:30-2, 50 Birge
135AC/1
Lectures TTh 4-5 in 140 Barrows + one hour of discussion section per week in 305 Wheeler (sec. 101: F 12-1; sec. 102: F 1-2)
Saul, Scott TTh 1-2:30 08/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 441 ssaul@berkeley.edu C136/1
MW 5-6:30, 20 Wheeler
Schweik, Susan W 1:30-3:30 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 309 sschweik@berkeley.edu 166/6
Lectures MW 12-1 in 122 Barrows + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 12-1; sec. 102: F 12-1)
Serpell, C. Namwali Spring 2020 M 3-6pm 01/2020 Wheeler Hall 464 145/1
Lectures MW 11-12 in 3 Leconte + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 11-12; sec. 102: F 11-12; sec. 103: F 12-1; sec. 104: F 12-1)
243A/1
MW 1:30-3, 301 Wheeler
Shoptaw, John on leave fall term 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 476 jshoptaw@berkeley.edu 143B/1
MW 1:30-3, 305 Wheeler
190/1
MW 10:30-12, 305 Wheeler
Snyder, Katherine Wed 12-1:30 pm, Thurs 2-3:30 pm, and by appt. 10/2019 409 Wheeler Hall ksnyder@berkeley.edu 125E/1
Lectures MW 9-10 in 20 Wheeler (note new location) + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 9-10; sec. 103: F 10-11)
203/1
MW 12-1:30, 301 Wheeler
Sorensen, Janet Please contact me by email to arrange for appointment 09/2019 432 Wheeler jsorensen@berkeley.edu 125A/1
MWF 1-2, 229 Dwinelle
250/1
M 3-6, 186 Barrows
Starr, George A. Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00 01/2018 Wheeler Hall, room 336 gastarr@berkeley.edu 166/5
Note slightly revised time: Tues. 5-8 PM, Note new location: 2062 Valley LSB
190/10
Thurs. 5-8:30 PM, Note new location: 305 Wheeler
Tamarkin, Elisa Thursday, 1:00-2:00, and by appointment 09/2019 Wheeler Hall, room 310 tamarkin@berkeley.edu 45B/1
Lectures MW 12-1 in 60 Evans + one hour of discussion section per week in different locations (sec. 101: F 12-1; sec. 102: F 1-2; sec. 103: Thurs. 9-10; sec. 104: Thurs. 10-11; sec. 105: F 12-1; sec. 106: F 1-2)
190/3
MW 3-4:30, 305 Wheeler
Wagner, Bryan Wednesday 2-4 01/2020 416 Wheeler bwagner@berkeley.edu 24/1
W 4-5, 189 Dwinelle
133A/1
MW 5-6:30 PM, 179 Dwinelle
Walter, David 10/2019 davywalter@berkeley.edu R1B/9
MWF 1-2, 233 Dwinelle
R1B/12
MWF 2-3, 233 Dwinelle
Wilson, Evan Tuesday 2-3pm; Wednesday 2:15-3:15pm 09/2018 421 Wheeler e.r.wilson@berkeley.edu 165/4
TTh 3:30-5, 54 Barrows
Zeavin, Hannah 07/2019 443 Wheeler Hall hzeavin@berkeley.edu R1B/7
MWF 12-1, 279 Dwinelle
R1B/10
MWF 1-2, 39 Evans
Zhang, Dora T/Th 3.45pm - 4.45pm 01/2020 Wheeler Hall, room 442 dyzhang@berkeley.edu 203/2
TTh 11-12:30, 180 Barrows