English Faculty Specialties

Instructor Title Interests E-Mail
Abel, Elizabeth Professor and John F. Hotchkis Chair in English 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
eabel@berkeley.edu
Als, Hilton Teaching Professor
Arnold, Oliver Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Banerjee, Sukanya Associate Professor 19th-Century British
South Asian
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
sbanerjee20@berkeley.edu
Beckett, Balthazar I. Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Native American
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
balthazar@berkeley.edu
Bernes, Jasper Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
bernes@berkeley.edu
Best, Stephen M. Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis 19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Film
sbest@berkeley.edu
Blanton, C. D. Associate Professor; Chair, Program in Critical Theory 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Catchings, Alex Berkeley Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Narrative & the Novel
acatchings@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Melanie Abrams Lecturer Creative Writing
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Vikram Teaching Professor Creative Writing
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Cutler, John Alba Associate Professor Chicanx and/or Latinx
Poetry
jalbacutler@berkeley.edu
Danner, Mark Professor
Class of 1961 Chair in Undergraduate Education
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
mark@markdanner.com
Donegan, Kathleen Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing Early American
Native American
Atlantic
Caribbean
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Duncan, Ian Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English
English Department Chair, 2021-22
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Ellis, Nadia Associate Professor African American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Falci, Eric Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Poetry
efalci@berkeley.edu
Farber, Thomas Senior Lecturer Creative Writing
tfar@berkeley.edu
Flynn, Catherine Associate Professor, Affiliate of the Program in Critical Theory, Director of Berkeley Connect in English, and Director of Irish Studies 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Francois, Anne-Lise Associate Professor 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Gang, Joshua Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Giscombe, Cecil S. Professor and Robert Hass Chair in English Creative Writing
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Goble, Mark Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Goldsmith, Steven Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Goldstein, Amanda Jo Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Gonzalez, Marcial Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicanx and/or Latinx
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
marcial@berkeley.edu
Goodman, Kevis Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Guyer, Sara Professor and Dean, Arts and Humanities 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
seguyer@berkeley.edu
Hale, Dorothy J. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dhale@berkeley.edu
Hanson, Kristin Professor Linguistics
Poetry
khanson@berkeley.edu
Jacoby, Leslie Lecturer Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Creative Writing
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
drljacoby@berkeley.edu
Jones, Donna V. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Justice, Steven Professor Middle English
Poetry
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Kahn, Victoria Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Kleege, Georgina Professor Creative Writing
Disability Studies
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Knapp, Jeffrey Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Drama
Poetry
Film
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Koerner, Michelle Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
koerner@berkeley.edu
Landreth, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Langan, Celeste Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Disability Studies
Poetry
clangan@berkeley.edu
Lavery, Grace Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Lee, Steven S. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
Cultural Studies
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Leong, Andrew Way Assistant Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
Lowe, Ruby Postdoc rrlowe@berkeley.edu
Lye, Colleen Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
clye@berkeley.edu
Marno, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Drama
Poetry
marno@berkeley.edu
McFarlane, Fiona Associate Professor Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu
Miller, Jennifer Associate Professor Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Scottish
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Drama
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Nathan, Jesse Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
jznathan@berkeley.edu
Nolan, Maura Associate Professor Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
mnolan@berkeley.edu
O'Brien, Geoffrey G. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Ostas, Magdalena Lecturer 19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
mostas@berkeley.edu
Otter, Samuel Professor; Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English Early American
19th-Century American
African American
sotter@berkeley.edu
Picciotto, Joanna M Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Puckett, Kent Professor and Director of Graduate Studies 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Reyes, Robert L Berkeley Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicanx and/or Latinx
rlreyes@berkeley.edu
Rowland, Amy Lecturer amyrowland@berkeley.edu
Saha, Poulomi Associate Professor Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
psaha@berkeley.edu
Saul, Scott Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
ssaul@berkeley.edu
Schweik, Susan Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Poetry
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Shoptaw, John Continuing Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Sirianni, Lucy Berkeley Lecturer 19th-Century British
Early American
19th-Century American
African American
Native American
Atlantic
Gender & Sexuality Studies
lucysirianni@gmail.com
Snyder, Katherine Associate Professor
Director of Berkeley Connect in English
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
Sorensen, Janet Professor 18th-Century British
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
Tamarkin, Elisa Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Early American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Turner, James Grantham James D Hart Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
grantham@berkeley.edu
Viragh, Atti Berkeley Lecturer 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
aviragh@berkeley.edu
Wagner, Bryan Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
bwagner@berkeley.edu
Walter, David Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
davywalter@berkeley.edu
Wong, Hertha D. Sweet Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
hertha@berkeley.edu
Zeavin, Hannah Lecturer hzeavin@berkeley.edu
Zhang, Dora Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
dyzhang@berkeley.edu