English Faculty Specialties

Instructor Title Interests E-Mail
Abel, Elizabeth Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
eabel@berkeley.edu
Altieri, Charles F. Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
altieri@berkeley.edu
Arnold, Oliver Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Banerjee, Sukanya Associate Professor 19th-Century British
South Asian
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
sbanerjee20@berkeley.edu
Bernes, Jasper Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
bernes@berkeley.edu
Best, Stephen M. Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis 19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Film
sbest@berkeley.edu
Blanton, C. D. Associate Professor; Chair, Program in Critical Theory 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Melanie Abrams Lecturer Creative Writing
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Vikram Teaching Professor Creative Writing
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Cho, Jennifer Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
jenniferc@berkeley.edu
Cruz, Frank Eugene Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Chicanx and/or Latinx
Cultural Studies
Film
cruz@berkeley.edu
Danner, Mark Professor
Class of 1961 Chair in Undergraduate Education
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
mark@markdanner.com
de Stefano, Jason Berkeley Lecturer Early American
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
jasond@berkeley.edu
Donegan, Kathleen Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing Early American
Native American
Atlantic
Caribbean
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Duncan, Ian Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Ellis, Nadia Associate Professor African American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
nellis@berkeley.edu
Falci, Eric Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Poetry
efalci@berkeley.edu
Farber, Thomas Senior Lecturer Creative Writing
tfar@berkeley.edu
Fehrenbacher, Dena John and Daria Barry Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dfehrenbacher@berkeley.edu
Flynn, Catherine Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Francois, Anne-Lise Associate Professor 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Gang, Joshua Assistant Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Ghosh, Srijani Lecturer srijani@berkeley.edu
Giscombe, Cecil S. Professor Creative Writing
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Goble, Mark Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Goldsmith, Steven Professor; Director of Graduate Studies 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Goldstein, Amanda Jo Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Gonzalez, Marcial Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicanx and/or Latinx
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
marcial@berkeley.edu
Goodman, Kevis Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Hale, Dorothy J. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dhale@berkeley.edu
Hanson, Kristin Professor Linguistics
Poetry
khanson@berkeley.edu
JanMohamed, Abdul R. Professor African American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Jones, Donna V. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Justice, Steven Professor and Chair Middle English
Poetry
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Kahn, Victoria Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Kleege, Georgina Professor Creative Writing
Disability Studies
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Knapp, Jeffrey Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English
Chair, Department of Film and Media
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Drama
Poetry
Film
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Koerner, Michelle Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
koerner@berkeley.edu
Landreth, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Poetry
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Langan, Celeste Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Disability Studies
Poetry
clangan@berkeley.edu
Lavery, Grace Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu
Lee, Steven S. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
Cultural Studies
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Leong, Andrew Way Assistant Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
Lye, Colleen Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
clye@berkeley.edu
Marno, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Drama
Poetry
marno@berkeley.edu
McFarlane, Fiona Associate Professor Creative Writing
Narrative & the Novel
fmcfarlane@berkeley.edu
McWilliams, Ryan Early American
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
ryanmcw@berkeley.edu
Miller, Jennifer Associate Professor Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Scottish
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Drama
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Nathan, Jesse Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
jznathan@berkeley.edu
Nolan, Maura Associate Professor Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
mnolan@berkeley.edu
O'Brien, Geoffrey G. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Otter, Samuel Professor; Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English Literature Early American
19th-Century American
African American
sotter@berkeley.edu
Padilla, Genaro M. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicanx and/or Latinx
Cultural Studies
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Picciotto, Joanna M Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Puckett, Kent Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Rowland, Amy Lecturer amyrowland@berkeley.edu
Saha, Poulomi Associate Professor Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
psaha@berkeley.edu
Saul, Scott Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
ssaul@berkeley.edu
Schweik, Susan Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Poetry
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Shoptaw, John Continuing Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Snyder, Katherine Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
Sorensen, Janet Professor 18th-Century British
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
Starr, George A. Professor 18th-Century British
gastarr@berkeley.edu
Strub, Spencer Middle English
Cultural Studies
Poetry
spencer.strub@berkeley.edu
Tamarkin, Elisa Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Early American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Turner, James Grantham James D Hart Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
grantham@berkeley.edu
Wagner, Bryan Associate Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
bwagner@berkeley.edu
Walter, David Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Film
davywalter@berkeley.edu
Wong, Hertha D. Sweet Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
hertha@berkeley.edu
Zeavin, Hannah Lecturer hzeavin@berkeley.edu
Zhang, Dora Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
dyzhang@berkeley.edu