English Faculty Specialties

Instructor Title Interests E-Mail
Abel, Elizabeth Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
eabel@berkeley.edu
Altieri, Charles F. Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
altieri@berkeley.edu
Arnold, Oliver Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Best, Stephen M. Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis 19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
sbest@berkeley.edu
Blanton, C. D. Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Chair, Program in Critical Theory 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
Breitwieser, Mitchell Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing Early American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chamberlin, Christopher University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellow 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
cechamberlin@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Melanie Abrams Lecturer Creative Writing
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Chandra, Vikram Teaching Professor Creative Writing
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Cho, Jennifer Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
jenniferc@berkeley.edu
Creasy, CFS Lecturer 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Narrative & the Novel
creasy[at]berkeley[dot]edu
Danner, Mark Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism mark@markdanner.com
Donegan, Kathleen Associate Professor Early American
Native American
Atlantic
Caribbean
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Duncan, Ian Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Ellis, Nadia Associate Professor African American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
nellis@berkeley.edu
Falci, Eric Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Poetry
efalci@berkeley.edu
Farber, Thomas Senior Lecturer Creative Writing
tfar@berkeley.edu
Flynn, Catherine Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Francois, Anne-Lise Associate Professor 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Gang, Joshua Assistant Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Gaydos, Rebecca Lecturer 20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Giscombe, Cecil S. Professor Creative Writing
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Goble, Mark Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Goldsmith, Steven Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Goldstein, Amanda Jo Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator 18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Gonzalez, Marcial Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
marcial@berkeley.edu
Goodman, Kevis Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Hale, Dorothy J. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dhale@berkeley.edu
Hanson, Kristin Associate Professor Linguistics
Poetry
khanson@berkeley.edu
Hass, Robert L. Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
bobhass@berkeley.edu
Hejinian, Lyn John F. Hotchkis Professor of English 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Creative Writing
Poetry
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu
Hobson, Jacob Lecturer Old English
Middle English
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
jehobson@berkeley.edu
JanMohamed, Abdul R. Professor African American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Jones, Donna V. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Justice, Steven Professor and Chair Middle English
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Kahn, Victoria Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Kleege, Georgina Lecturer SOE Creative Writing
Disability Studies
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Knapp, Jeffrey Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Drama
Poetry
Film
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Koerner, Michelle Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
koerner@berkeley.edu
Landreth, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Langan, Celeste Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Disability Studies
Poetry
clangan@berkeley.edu
Lavery, Grace Assistant Professor 19th-Century British
Pacific
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu
Lee, Steven S. Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
Cultural Studies
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Leong, Andrew Way Assistant Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Pacific
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
Lye, Colleen Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Asian American
Pacific
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
clye@berkeley.edu
Marno, David Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Drama
Poetry
marno@berkeley.edu
Miller, Jasmin Lecturer Middle English
Cultural Studies
Miller, Jennifer Associate Professor Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Scottish
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Drama
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Nolan, Maura Associate Professor Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Oates, Joyce Carol Visiting Professor Creative Writing
O'Brien, Geoffrey G. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
gobrien@berkeley.edu
O'Brien O'Keeffe, Katherine Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English
Old English
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
kobok@berkeley.edu
Otter, Samuel Professor Early American
19th-Century American
African American
sotter@berkeley.edu
Padilla, Genaro M. Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Picciotto, Joanna M Associate Professor Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Puckett, Kent Professor 19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Saha, Poulomi Assistant Professor Asian American
South Asian
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
psaha@berkeley.edu
Saul, Scott Professor 20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
ssaul@berkeley.edu
Schweik, Susan Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
Poetry
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Serpell, C. Namwali Associate Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Shoptaw, John Continuing Lecturer 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Snyder, Katherine Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator 19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
Sorensen, Janet Professor 18th-Century British
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
Starr, George A. Professor 18th-Century British
gastarr@berkeley.edu
Tamarkin, Elisa Associate Professor 19th-Century British
Early American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Turner, James Grantham Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
grantham@berkeley.edu
Wagner, Bryan Associate Professor 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
bwagner@berkeley.edu
Wong, Hertha D. Sweet Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities 19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Cultural Studies
hertha@berkeley.edu
Zhang, Dora Assistant Professor 20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
dyzhang@berkeley.edu