Berkeley English Faculty


Elizabeth Abel

Elizabeth Abel

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Tues 2-2:45, 4:15-5:30, Weds 2-3
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cultural Studies
African American
Charles F. Altieri

Charles F. Altieri

Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
by appointment
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet

Oliver Arnold

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 236
M and W, 2:15-3:15
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Stephen M. Best

Stephen M. Best

Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 404
Tuesday, 2:00-3:30, by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos
sbest@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
C. D. Blanton

C. D. Blanton

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Wednesday, 3-5 p.m., and by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Mitchell Breitwieser

Mitchell Breitwieser

Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420

mitchb@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Early American
Melanie Abrams Chandra

Melanie Abrams Chandra

Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Wed 3-4pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra

Vikram Chandra

Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
Monday, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm; Friday, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm; and by appointment.
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner

Mark Danner

Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan

Kathleen Donegan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 2:30-4:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Early American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Native American
Ian Duncan

Ian Duncan

Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2018: Mondays 2-5 EXCEPT 10/01, 11/05, 12/03, when instead: Wed. 2-5
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Scottish
Nadia Ellis

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Fall Office Hours: Weds 9-11:30a; Sign up below
nellis@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Caribbean
Atlantic
African American
Eric Falci

Eric Falci

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Fall 2018: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Irish
Thomas Farber

Thomas Farber

Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Spring 2018: not in residence
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn

Catherine Flynn

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Tuesdays, 3:40-5 p.m. and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Anne-Lise Francois

Anne-Lise Francois

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Joshua Gang

Joshua Gang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Fall 2018: M/W, 330-430pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Drama
Cecil S. Giscombe

Cecil S. Giscombe

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
by appointment
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble

Mark Goble

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
M 1:15-2:30; W 3:15-4:30 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Steven Goldsmith

Steven Goldsmith

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Fall 2018 W 1:30-3:30; F 2-3
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Amanda Jo Goldstein

Amanda Jo Goldstein

Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 462
OH Mon. 2-3, Thurs. 3:40-5
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Marcial Gonzalez

Marcial Gonzalez

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Office Hours: Tues 3:45-5:45pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Kevis Goodman

Kevis Goodman

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Tuesdays, 10-11:30; Fridays, 11-1 (with the exception of 8/24). See also under Major Advising.
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Dorothy J. Hale

Dorothy J. Hale

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Office hours for the rest of Fall 2018 are by appointment. Please email me to set up a time to meet.
dhale@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Kristin Hanson

Kristin Hanson

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
For the remainder of Fall 2018 by appointment only.
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass

Robert L. Hass

Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Lyn Hejinian

Lyn Hejinian

John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
Wednesdays 2-4
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Creative Writing
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Abdul R. JanMohamed

Abdul R. JanMohamed

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
M & W 2:00 - 3:30 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Cultural Studies
Donna V. Jones

Donna V. Jones

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Mon 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Caribbean
African
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Steven Justice

Steven Justice

Professor and Chair

322 Wheeler Hall
By appointment. Contact me (sjustice@berkeley.edu) or Grace de Guzman (acadhr_english@berkeley.edu)
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn

Victoria Kahn

Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Georgina Kleege

Georgina Kleege

Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Fall 2018: Tuesdays & Thursdays, 10:30-noon, or by appointment.
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Disability Studies
Jeffrey Knapp

Jeffrey Knapp

Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
By appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Film
David Landreth

David Landreth

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Fall 2018: Wednesdays 1:30 - 3:30
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan

Celeste Langan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
T12-1, Th 4-5; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
Disability Studies
Poetry
19th-Century British
Grace Lavery

Grace Lavery

Assistant Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
MW, 2-3
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
Cultural Studies
Steven S. Lee

Steven Lee

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
On Sabbatical, AY 2018-19
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Atlantic
Asian American
African American
Andrew Way Leong

Andrew Way Leong

Assistant Professor

475 Wheeler
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Film
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Asian American
Colleen Lye

Colleen Lye

Associate Professor

433 Wheeler Hall
Office hours: by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Asian American
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
David Marno

David Marno

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jennifer Miller

Jennifer Miller

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Disability Studies
Old English
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Scottish
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Drama
Maura Nolan

Maura Nolan

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Fall, 2018: Tuesdays, 3-6
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet

Joyce Carol Oates

Visiting Professor

Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet

Geoffrey G. O'Brien

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Tuesdays 1:30-3:30pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Creative Writing
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe

Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Fall 2018: TW 10:30-11:30
kobok@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Old English
Textual Criticism
Samuel Otter

Samuel Otter

Professor

232 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2018: Office hours by appointment
sotter@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
Early American
Genaro M. Padilla

Genaro M. Padilla

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet

Joanna M Picciotto

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
Thursday 3-5
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett

Kent Puckett

Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
by appointment
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Film
Poetry
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Poulomi Saha

Poulomi Saha

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
By appointment only
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
South Asian
Asian American
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul

Scott Saul

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
W 1:30-2:30, F 1:15-2:15 and by appointment
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
Susan Schweik

Susan Schweik

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
W 11-1
sschweik@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Disability Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
C. Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Fall 2018 TuTh 3.45-5.15pm
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
John Shoptaw

John Shoptaw

Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 10-1 & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Katherine Snyder

Katherine Snyder

Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Fall 2018, Thursdays 2-3:30 and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet

Janet Sorensen

Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesdays 3-5 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr

George A. Starr

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin

Elisa Tamarkin

Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
please email for an appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Early American
19th-Century American
Atlantic
19th-Century British
James Grantham Turner

James Grantham Turner

Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
on leave but welcomes emails and can meet by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
18th-Century British
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Bryan Wagner

Bryan Wagner

Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Wed 3-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Hertha D. Sweet Wong

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
Monday 1-2:30 & by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Native American
Dora Zhang

Dora Zhang

Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory

Christopher Chamberlin

Christopher Chamberlin

University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 473
cechamberlin@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
African American
Jennifer Cho

Jennifer Cho

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Mondays 10:30am-12pm & by appointment
jenniferc@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
CFS Creasy

CFS Creasy

Lecturer

Wheeler 421
Tues 1:00-3:00
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Rebecca Gaydos

Rebecca Gaydos

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Jacob Hobson

Jacob Hobson

Lecturer

474 Wheeler
OH: MW 2-3
jehobson@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Old English
Middle English
Textual Criticism
Michelle Koerner

Michelle Koerner

Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Poetry
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jasmin Miller

Jasmin Miller

Lecturer

421 Wheeler
T 1:30-3:30pm
Cultural Studies
Middle English

Joel B. Altman

Joel B. Altman

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader

Julia Bader

Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Ann Banfield

Ann Banfield

Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Linguistics
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop

John Bishop

Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom

Robert Bloom

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet

Stephen Booth

Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet

Carol T. Christ

Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews

Frederick C. Crews

Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet

Richard Feingold

Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet

Donald M. Friedman

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher

Catherine Gallagher

Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Richard Hutson

Richard Hutson

Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
African American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
no photo uploaded yet

Maxine Hong Kingston

Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade

Donald McQuade

Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
D.A. Miller

D.A. Miller

John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
damiller@berkeley.edu
Film
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Alan H. Nelson

Alan H. Nelson

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
John Niles

John Niles

Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Old English
Scottish
Poetry
Morton D. Paley

Morton D. Paley

Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet

Carolyn Porter

Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
no photo uploaded yet

Ishmael S. Reed

Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Hugh Macrae Richmond

Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Peter D. Scott

Peter D. Scott

Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy

Robert Tracy

Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Drama