Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Tues 2-2:45, 4:15-5:30, Weds 2-3
eabel@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
by appointment
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Wheeler Hall, room 236
M and W, 2:15-3:15
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 404
Tuesday, 2:00-3:30, by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos
sbest@berkeley.edu
African American
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Wednesday, 3-5 p.m., and by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420

mitchb@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Wed 3-4pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
Monday, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm; Friday, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm; and by appointment.
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 2:30-4:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Native American
Caribbean
Atlantic
Early American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2018: Mondays 2-5 EXCEPT 10/01, 11/05, 12/03, when instead: Wed. 2-5
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Fall Office Hours: Weds 9-11:30a; Sign up below
nellis@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Caribbean
Atlantic
African American
Cultural Studies
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Fall 2018: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Irish
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Spring 2018: not in residence
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Tuesdays, 3:40-5 p.m. and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Fall 2018: M/W, 330-430pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Drama
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
by appointment
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
M 1:15-2:30; W 3:15-4:30 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Fall 2018 W 1:30-3:30; F 2-3
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Amanda Jo Goldstein Amanda Jo Goldstein
Associate Professor; Placement Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 462
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Office Hours: Tues 3:45-5:45pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Tuesdays, 10-11:30; Fridays, 11-1 (with the exception of 8/24). See also under Major Advising.
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Wednesday 12:10-1:10 and by appointment
dhale@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
TuTh 2:00-3:00 p.m.
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
Wednesdays 2-4
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
M & W 2:00 - 3:30 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
African American
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Mon 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Caribbean
African
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Professor and Chair

322 Wheeler Hall
By appointment. Contact me (sjustice@berkeley.edu) or Grace de Guzman (acadhr_english@berkeley.edu)
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Fall 2018: Tuesdays & Thursdays, 10:30-noon, or by appointment.
gkleege@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Disability Studies
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
By appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Fall 2018: Wednesdays 1:30 - 3:30
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
T12-1, Th 4-5; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Disability Studies
Poetry
Grace Lavery Grace Lavery
Assistant Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
MW, 2-3
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu
Pacific
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
On Sabbatical, AY 2018-19
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Cultural Studies
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
Atlantic
Andrew Way Leong Andrew Way Leong
Assistant Professor

475 Wheeler
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Asian American
Pacific
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

433 Wheeler Hall
Office hours: by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Asian American
David Marno David Marno
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
Thu 3:30-5
marno@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Disability Studies
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Fall, 2018: Tuesdays, 3-6
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Visiting Professor

Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Tuesdays 1:30-3:30pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Fall 2018: TW 10:30-11:30
kobok@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Cultural Studies
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

232 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2018: Office hours by appointment
sotter@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
Early American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
Thursday 3-5
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
by appointment
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Film
19th-Century British
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
By appointment only
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com
Asian American
Critical Theory
South Asian
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
W 1:30-2:30, F 1:15-2:15 and by appointment
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Drama
Cultural Studies
African American
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
W 11-1
sschweik@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Disability Studies
19th-Century American
Poetry
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Fall 2018 TuTh 3.45-5.15pm
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 10-1 & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Fall 2018, Thursdays 2-3:30 and by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century American
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesdays 3-5 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
please email for an appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
19th-Century American
Early American
19th-Century British
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
on leave but welcomes emails and can meet by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Tue 4:30-5, Thu 3:30-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Professor and Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities

423 Wheeler Hall
Monday 1-2:30 & by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Native American
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Linguistics
Critical Theory

Interests
Mark Bauer Mark Bauer
Lecturer

443 Wheeler
Monday 9:00-10:00 and Wednesday 4:00-5:00, and by appointment
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Christopher Chamberlin Christopher Chamberlin
University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 473
cechamberlin@berkeley.edu
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Jennifer Cho Jennifer Cho
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Mondays 10:30am-12pm & by appointment
jenniferc@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
CFS Creasy CFS Creasy
Lecturer

Wheeler 421
Tues 1:00-3:00
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Narrative & the Novel
Rebecca Gaydos Rebecca Gaydos
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Srijani  Ghosh Srijani Ghosh
Lecturer

443 Wheeler
Mon & Wed 3:00-4:00 pm and by appointment
srijani@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Benjamin Griffin
Lecturer

474 Wheeler
bgriffin@library.berkeley.edu
510 664-4238
Jacob Hobson Jacob Hobson
Lecturer

474 Wheeler
OH: MW 2-3
jehobson@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Old English
Middle English
Cultural Studies
Michelle Koerner Michelle Koerner
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Poetry
Jasmin Miller Jasmin Miller
Lecturer

421 Wheeler
T 1:30-3:30pm
Cultural Studies
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Sara Nicholson
Holloway Fellow

472 Wheeler
Claire Marie Stancek Claire Marie Stancek


421 Wheeler
TTh 10:30-11:30
Poetry
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Lecturer

Mondays, 2-4 pm
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Linguistics
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
African American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
damiller@berkeley.edu
Film
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Old English
Scottish
Poetry
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Irish
Drama