Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Mon 2-5, Weds 2-3
eabel@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
Please contact directly for office hours.
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 410
W 1-3
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Mark Bauer Mark Bauer


331 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Balthazar Beckett
Lecturer

balthazar@berkeley.edu
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 404
by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos=
sbest@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
19th-Century American
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Co-Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
Thursday, 2-4 p.m., or by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
Critical Theory
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
Early American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Mon and Wed 2:30-3:30 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
M 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm; T 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM; and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Jennifer Cho
Lecturer

jenniferc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Brian Clancy


bclancy@berkeley.edu
CFS Creasy CFS Creasy
Postdoctoral Fellow

Wheeler 421
T/Th 3:30-4:30 by appointment
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Critical Theory
Textual Criticism
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 473 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 11:00-1:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Native American
Atlantic
Caribbean
Early American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Please contact directly for office hours.
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Scottish
18th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
By appointment
nellis@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Caribbean
Atlantic
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Spring 2018: Fridays 10 a.m.-noon and by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Spring 2018: not in residence
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Wednesdays, 3-5 p.m. and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
18th-Century British
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Spring 2018: not in residence
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
Drama
Critical Theory
Srijani  Ghosh Srijani Ghosh
Lecturer

41-47 Dwinelle Hall
Mon & Wed 3:00-4:00 pm and by appointment
srijani@berkeley.edu
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Spring 2018: not in residence
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Spring 2018 M 1-2; W 2-4
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
Amanda Jo Goldstein Amanda Jo Goldstein
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 462
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
18th-Century British
Poetry
19th-Century British
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Wed 3:15pm - 5:30pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Fridays, 1-2:30 pm and by appointment
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Poetry
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Starting January 16, 2018: Tuesdays 1-2:30
dhale@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Kathleen L. Haley Kathleen L. Haley
Visiting Scholar

kathleen.haley1@gmail.com
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
TuTh 1:45-2:45 p.m. and 5:15-5:45 by appointment only
khanson@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Poetry
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
Thurs 3:45-5:45 or by appointment
lynhejinian@gmail.com
Poetry
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Jacob Hobson Jacob Hobson


421 Wheeler
OH: TTh 3:30-4:30, at FSM
jehobson@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Middle English
Old English
Critical Theory
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 236
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
African American
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
Wed 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Caribbean
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
African
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 334
Monday, 3:00-5:00pm
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Spring 2018: Tuesdays & Thursdays, 10:30-noon, or by appointment.
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
F 12-2 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Film
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Cultural Studies
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Michelle Koerner


koerner@berkeley.edu
Margaret Kolb Margaret Kolb
Lecturer in English

421 Wheeler Hall
Spring '18, Thursday, 2-4 pm, and by appointment
kolb.margaret@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Spring 2018: Tuesdays 10-12
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
M 11:30-2:30; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jos Lavery Jos Lavery
Assistant Professor

442 Wheeler Hall
W, 3-5
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Pacific
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor; Faculty Equity Officer

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
(Fall 2017) Tuesdays, 9:30 am - 12:30 pm
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Atlantic
Pacific
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 433
Office hours: Th 2-3 pm and by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
Cultural Studies
Asian American
David Marno David Marno
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
MW 4:15-5:15 and by appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Drama
Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Spring, 2018: Tuesdays, 4:30-6:00
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Professor

Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Tuesdays 2-4pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
kobok@berkeley.edu
Old English
Cultural Studies
Textual Criticism
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 232
On leave during Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 semesters
sotter@berkeley.edu
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor and Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 323
By appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
Tues 4-6
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
Wednesdays, 9-11am
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
19th-Century British
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 443
TF 11-12 & By appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Asian American
Cultural Studies
South Asian
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
no photo uploaded yet Maria Saldaña
Visiting Associate Professor

josie.saldana@berkeley.edu
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
Wednesday, 11:30-1:30
ssaul@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Drama
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Spring 2018 Tuesdays by appointment
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 10-1 & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Spring 2018: by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
19th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesdays 11-12:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tuesday 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Monday and Wednesday, 3:30-4:30, and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Atlantic
Early American
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
W 10-1, or by appointment
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
Cultural Studies
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
TTh 2-3:30 or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
18th-Century British
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
Narrative & the Novel
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Mon 3-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
African American
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

423 Wheeler Hall
M 1:30-3, T 10-11, & by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
19th-Century American
Native American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Lecturer

By Appointment Only
Critical Theory
Film
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Irene Yoon Irene Yoon
Berkeley Lecturer

Stephens Hall 360-J
Wednesdays 3-5pm
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 475
On leave 2016-7
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Linguistics
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
19th-Century British
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
M 3-5
damiller@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Film
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Poetry
Scottish
Old English
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
19th-Century British