Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
T/Th 3:45-5:15
eabel@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
tues 2:10 -- 4:10
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 848 2686
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 410
W 1-3
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Stephanie M Bahr Stephanie M Bahr
Postdoctoral Fellow

Tuesday 11-12 & by appointment
stephaniebahr@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Film
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
Drama
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 404
by appointment - please email
sbest@berkeley.edu
African American
Critical Theory
19th-Century American
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Co-Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Jeffrey Blevins Jeffrey Blevins
Lecturer

Tuesdays 12:30-2:30 in Cafe Nefeli
jblevins@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Textual Criticism
20th- and 21st-Century British
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420
abstemiast.tumblr.com
mitchb@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Early American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Mon and Wed 2:30-3:30 and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 451
TTh 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm, and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 473 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 1:30-3:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Early American
Caribbean
Atlantic
Native American
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Fall 2017: not in residence. Visiting Professor, Council for the Humanities, Princeton University
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
Wednesdays 11:30a-1pm | Cafe Strada, Bancroft Ave.
nellis@berkeley.edu
Atlantic
African American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Caribbean
Cultural Studies
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Spring 2017: Tuesdays, 1:30-3:30
efalci@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
3:00-3:30 and 6:30-8 Tues, 2017
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Spring 2015: ON LEAVE
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Fall 2017: M/W, 350pm-450pm
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Linguistics
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Fall 2016. Thursdays, 12:30-3. Other times by appointment.
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
MW 11-12 and by appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Spring 2016 T 3:30-4:30; F 12:30-2:00
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
19th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Amanda Jo Goldstein
Assistant Professor

ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Thurs 3:45-6:15pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Weds. 3:30-5 pm and Fri. 1-2:30 pm
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Office Hours: By Appointment
dhale@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
Kathleen L. Haley Kathleen L. Haley
Visiting Scholar

kathleen.haley1@gmail.com
Textual Criticism
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
TuTh 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
khanson@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Linguistics
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
by appointment
lynhejinian@gmail.com
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Creative Writing
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 237
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
Cultural Studies
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
Wed 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
African
Caribbean
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Chancellor's Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 334
Tuesday 10am-12pm in 694 Barrows Hall
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Summer 2017, by appointment
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
Friday 12:30-2:30 and by appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Film
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Critical Theory
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Spring 2017: Thursdays 12:30 - 3:30, HFA lawn (if sunny) or HFA C53 (if dreary)
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
Tuesdays 9-11; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century British
Jos Lavery Jos Lavery
Assistant Professor

442 Wheeler Hall
MW, 3 - 4
josephlavery@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Pacific
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor; Faculty Equity Officer

Wheeler Hall, room 415
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Pacific
Cultural Studies
Asian American
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Atlantic
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 433
Wed 2-3 pm drop in; and by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
Asian American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Pacific
David Marno David Marno
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
no photo uploaded yet Katherine Mezur
Lecturer

D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
M 3-5
damiller@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
By appointment
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Professor

Office Hours: 3-3:30 and 6:30-7, immediately before and after class in 203 Wheeler
Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Fridays, 2-5pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
T, W 10-11
kobok@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Old English
Textual Criticism
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 232
By appointment. Please email.
sotter@berkeley.edu
Early American
19th-Century American
African American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor and Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 323
By appointment
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Cultural Studies
R. D. Perry R. D. Perry
Postdoctoral Fellow

by appointment
rdperry@berkeley.edu
Old English
Cultural Studies
Poetry
Textual Criticism
Critical Theory
Middle English
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 234
W 2-5
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 403
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Film
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 443
MW 2-3 & by appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
South Asian
Asian American
Cultural Studies
no photo uploaded yet Maria Saldaña
Visiting Associate Professor

josie.saldana@berkeley.edu
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
Friday 10 am-noon at Cafe Milano
ssaul@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Drama
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
By appointment
sschweik@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 464
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Fri 12:10-2 or so, & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Creative Writing
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
By appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Associate Professor

432 Wheeler
Mondays 1-2:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
336 Wheeler, Tue.-Thur. 3:30-5:00 & by appt.
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
Early American
Atlantic
19th-Century American
Emily V. Thornbury Emily V. Thornbury
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 434
W 2:30-4, Th 3:30-5
thornbury@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
Linguistics
Textual Criticism
Poetry
Old English
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
TTh 2-3:30 or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Gender & Sexuality Studies
18th-Century British
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Tue 3:30-4 / Thu 3:30-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

423 Wheeler Hall
by appointment
hertha@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Native American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Lecturer

By Appointment Only
wendy.xin@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Film
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 475
On leave 2016-7
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Drama
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Linguistics
Narrative & the Novel
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

233 Wheeler
jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

409 Wheeler
sbooth@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

333 Wheeler Hall
cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

229 Wheeler
by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4580
19th-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 236
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
19th-Century American
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Renaissance and Early Modern
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Poetry
Old English
Scottish
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

uncleish@aol.com
Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

430 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Irish
Drama
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British