Berkeley English Faculty


Interests
Elizabeth Abel Elizabeth Abel
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 424
Mon 2-5, Weds 2-3
eabel@berkeley.edu
African American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Charles F. Altieri Charles F. Altieri
Professor
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 332
M 3-5
altieri@berkeley.edu
510 334 4244
20th- and 21st-Century British
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Oliver Arnold
Associate Professor; Placement Committee Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 236
W 1-3
oarnold@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Julia Bader Julia Bader
Professor Emerita

234 Wheeler
Please contact directly for office hours.
baderj@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century American
Stephen M. Best Stephen M. Best
Associate Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Wheeler Hall, room 404
by appointment - sign up at https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/iptos=
sbest@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
African American
19th-Century American
C. D. Blanton C. D. Blanton
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English; Co-Chair, Program in Critical Theory

Wheeler Hall, room 437
by appointment
cdblanton@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Poetry
Mitchell Breitwieser Mitchell Breitwieser
Professor, Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Chancellor's Distinguished Chair in Writing

Wheeler Hall, room 420

mitchb@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Early American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Melanie Abrams Chandra Melanie Abrams Chandra
Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 451
Wed 3-4pm and by appt
melanieabrams@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Vikram Chandra Vikram Chandra
Teaching Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 451
Tu, Th, 9:00 am - 10:00 am; and by appointment
vikramchandra@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Danner Mark Danner
Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism

Wheeler 229 (English), North Gate Hall B-32 (Journalism)
Please contact directly for office hours.
mark@markdanner.com
Kathleen Donegan Kathleen Donegan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 440
Wednesday, 11:00-1:00
kdonegan@berkeley.edu
Caribbean
Native American
Early American
Atlantic
Ian Duncan Ian Duncan
Professor
Florence Green Bixby Chair in English

456 Wheeler Hall
Please contact directly for office hours.
iduncan@berkeley.edu
Scottish
Narrative & the Novel
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
Nadia Ellis Nadia Ellis
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 452
By appointment
nellis@berkeley.edu
Caribbean
Atlantic
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
African American
Eric Falci Eric Falci
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 308
Summer 2018: by appointment
efalci@berkeley.edu
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Thomas Farber Thomas Farber
Senior Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
Spring 2018: not in residence
tfar@berkeley.edu
510-644-4193
Creative Writing
Catherine Flynn Catherine Flynn
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 454
Wednesdays, 3-5 p.m. and by appointment
cflynn@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Irish
20th- and 21st-Century British
Anne-Lise Francois Anne-Lise Francois
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 453
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
afrancoi@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Poetry
18th-Century British
Joshua Gang Joshua Gang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler 412
Spring 2018: not in residence
jsgang [at] berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Drama
Linguistics
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Cecil S. Giscombe Cecil S. Giscombe
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 417
Spring 2018: not in residence
csgiscombe@berkeley.edu
Creative Writing
Mark Goble Mark Goble
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 411
By appointment
mgoble@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Film
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Steven Goldsmith Steven Goldsmith
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 431
Spring 2018 M 1-2; W 2-4
sgsmith@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Critical Theory
19th-Century British
Amanda Jo Goldstein Amanda Jo Goldstein
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 462
ajgoldstein@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Poetry
18th-Century British
Marcial Gonzalez Marcial Gonzalez
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 435
Office Hours: Thurs 1-4pm
marcial@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
Kevis Goodman Kevis Goodman
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 477
Please email for an appointment.
kgoodman@berkeley.edu
Poetry
18th-Century British
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Dorothy J. Hale Dorothy J. Hale
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 335
Starting January 16, 2018: Tuesdays 1-2:30
dhale@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century American
Kristin Hanson Kristin Hanson
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 426
khanson@berkeley.edu
Poetry
Linguistics
Robert L. Hass Robert L. Hass
Professor
Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics

Wheeler Hall, room 405
M 11;30-1:00 and by appt.
bobhass@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
Lyn Hejinian Lyn Hejinian
John F. Hotchkis Professor of English

Wheeler Hall, room 406
on leave spring 2018
lynhejinian@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
Creative Writing
African American
Abdul R. JanMohamed Abdul R. JanMohamed
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 430
Tues & Thurs 2:30 - 4:00 and by appointment
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
African American
Critical Theory
Donna V. Jones Donna V. Jones
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 410
Tue 12-2
dvjones@berkeley.edu
African
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century British
Caribbean
Steven Justice Steven Justice
Professor and Chair

Wheeler Hall, room 334
By appointment
sjustice@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Victoria Kahn Victoria Kahn
Professor
Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair in English

4317 Dwinelle
Thursdays, 2-4 and by appointment
vkahn@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Georgina Kleege Georgina Kleege
Lecturer SOE

Wheeler Hall, room 463
Summer 2018: by appointment.
gkleege@berkeley.edu
510-292-5536
Creative Writing
Disability Studies
Jeffrey Knapp Jeffrey Knapp
Professor
Ida Mae and William J. Eggers, Jr. Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 401
By appt.
jknapp@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Critical Theory
Poetry
Film
Cultural Studies
David Landreth David Landreth
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 402
Office hours, Spring 2018: Tuesdays 10-12
dlandreth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Celeste Langan Celeste Langan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 425
M 11:30-2:30; by appointment
clangan@berkeley.edu
Disability Studies
19th-Century British
Poetry
Grace Lavery Grace Lavery
Assistant Professor

434 Wheeler Hall
MW, 2-3
grace.lavery@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Cultural Studies
Pacific
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Steven S. Lee Steven Lee
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 415
On Sabbatical, AY 2018-19
stevenlee@berkeley.edu
Asian American
African American
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Pacific
Atlantic
Andrew Way Leong Andrew Way Leong
Assistant Professor

475 Wheeler
andrew_leong@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Pacific
Asian American
Film
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Colleen Lye Colleen Lye
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 433
Office hours: Tues 5-6 pm and by appointment
clye@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
Pacific
Asian American
David Marno David Marno
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 419
By appointment
marno@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Critical Theory
Drama
Jennifer Miller Jennifer Miller
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 414
Mondays 3.30-5.30
j_miller@berkeley.edu
Disability Studies
Middle English
Maura Nolan Maura Nolan
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 230
Spring, 2018: Tuesdays, 4:30-6:00
mnolan@berkeley.edu
Middle English
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
no photo uploaded yet Joyce Carol Oates
Visiting Professor

Creative Writing
no photo uploaded yet Geoffrey G. O'Brien
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 436
Tuesdays 2-4pm
gobrien@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Poetry
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe Katherine O'Brien O'Keeffe
Professor
Clyde and Evelyn Slusser Chair in English

Faculty Office: 427 Wheeler
Fall 2017 and Spring 2018: not in residence
kobok@berkeley.edu
Old English
Textual Criticism
Cultural Studies
Samuel Otter Samuel Otter
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 232
On leave during Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 semesters
sotter@berkeley.edu
Early American
African American
19th-Century American
Genaro M. Padilla Genaro M. Padilla
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 323
Wednesdays, 3:00-4:30 (422 Wheeler Hall)
gpadilla@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Chicana/o and/or Latina/o
no photo uploaded yet Joanna M Picciotto
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 233
Thursday 12-3
jpicciotto@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Kent Puckett Kent Puckett
Professor

Wheeler Hall, Room 403
Wednesdays, 9-11am
kpuckett@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
19th-Century British
Film
Narrative & the Novel
Poulomi Saha Poulomi Saha
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 455
TR 11-12 & By appointment
psaha@berkeley.edu
www.poulomisaha.com
South Asian
Asian American
Critical Theory
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Scott Saul Scott Saul
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 441
Thursday 1-4 pm
ssaul@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
African American
Cultural Studies
Drama
Susan Schweik Susan Schweik
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 309
W 11-1
sschweik@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Poetry
Disability Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Cultural Studies
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
C. Namwali Serpell Namwali Serpell
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall 464
Fall 2018 TuTh 3.45-5.15pm
20th- and 21st-Century British
Narrative & the Novel
Critical Theory
20th- and 21st-Century American
John Shoptaw John Shoptaw
Continuing Lecturer

Wheeler Hall, room 476
M 10-1 & by appt
jshoptaw@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Katherine Snyder Katherine Snyder
Associate Professor; Pedagogy Coordinator

Wheeler Hall, room 409
Spring 2018: by appointment
ksnyder@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
Cultural Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
19th-Century American
Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th- and 21st-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Janet Sorensen
Professor

432 Wheeler
Wednesdays 11-12:30 and by appointment
jsorensen@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
George A. Starr George A. Starr
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 336
Tues./Thurs. 3:30-5:00
gastarr@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
Elisa Tamarkin Elisa Tamarkin
Associate Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 310
Monday and Wednesday, 3:30-4:30, and by appointment
tamarkin@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Atlantic
19th-Century British
Early American
James Grantham Turner James Grantham Turner
Professor
James D. Hart Chair in English

Wheeler Hall, room 333
MW 2-3:30 or by appointment
grantham@berkeley.edu
510-642-2749
Poetry
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
18th-Century British
Bryan Wagner Bryan Wagner
Associate Professor

416 Wheeler
Mon 3-5
bwagner@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
African American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Hertha D. Sweet Wong Hertha D. Sweet Wong
Professor

423 Wheeler Hall
hertha@berkeley.edu
Native American
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Cultural Studies
Dora Zhang Dora Zhang
Assistant Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 442
dyzhang@berkeley.edu
Linguistics
20th- and 21st-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel

Interests
Mark Bauer Mark Bauer
Lecturer

443 Wheeler
Monday 9:00-10:00 and Wednesday 4:00-5:00, and by appointment
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Christopher Chamberlin
Postdoctoral Fellow

Jennifer Cho Jennifer Cho
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Mondays 10:30am-12pm & by appointment
jenniferc@berkeley.edu
Cultural Studies
20th- and 21st-Century American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
CFS Creasy CFS Creasy
Lecturer

Wheeler 421
T/W 12:00-1:00
creasy[AT]berkeley[DOT]edu
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Textual Criticism
19th-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century British
Irish
Rebecca Gaydos Rebecca Gaydos
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Poetry
20th- and 21st-Century American
Srijani  Ghosh Srijani Ghosh
Lecturer

443 Wheeler
Mon & Wed 3:00-4:00 pm and by appointment
srijani@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Benjamin Griffin
Lecturer

474 Wheeler
bgriffin@library.berkeley.edu
510 664-4238
Jacob Hobson Jacob Hobson
Lecturer

474 Wheeler
OH: TTh 3:30-4:30, at FSM
jehobson@berkeley.edu
Textual Criticism
Middle English
Critical Theory
Old English
Michelle Koerner Michelle Koerner
Lecturer

Wheeler 443
Wed and Friday, 2:30-5PM, Cafe Milano
koerner@berkeley.edu
Critical Theory
Poetry
19th-Century American
20th- and 21st-Century American
Jasmin Miller Jasmin Miller
Lecturer

421 Wheeler
W 11-12pm, 1-2pm
Cultural Studies
Middle English
Claire Marie Stancek Claire Marie Stancek


421 Wheeler
TTh 10:30-11:30
Poetry
19th-Century British
Creative Writing
20th- and 21st-Century American
Wendy Veronica Xin Wendy Veronica Xin
Lecturer

Mondays, 2-4 pm
20th- and 21st-Century American
Film
20th- and 21st-Century British
19th-Century British
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel

Interests
Joel B. Altman Joel B. Altman
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
jbaltman@berkeley.edu
Drama
Renaissance and Early Modern
Ann Banfield Ann Banfield
Emerita

Wheeler Hall, room 478
banfield@berkeley.edu
510-642-1150
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
Linguistics
John Bishop John Bishop
Emeritus

jbishop@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Robert Bloom Robert Bloom
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
robertbloom@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century British
20th- and 21st-Century American
no photo uploaded yet Stephen Booth
Emeritus

sbooth@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
no photo uploaded yet Carol T. Christ
Professor

cchrist@berkeley.edu
19th-Century British
Frederick C. Crews Frederick C. Crews
Emeritus

fredc@berkeley.edu
no photo uploaded yet Richard Feingold
Emeritus

feingold@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Donald M. Friedman
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
dmf@berkeley.edu
Catherine Gallagher Catherine Gallagher
Emerita
Former Ida May and William J Eggers, Jr., Chair in English

by appointment
cgall@berkeley.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Richard Hutson Richard Hutson
Emeritus

Wheeler Hall, room 478
W 11-12 and by appointment
rhutson@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
African American
Critical Theory
Narrative & the Novel
no photo uploaded yet Maxine Hong Kingston
Emerita

yinglan@berkeley.edu
Donald McQuade Donald McQuade
Professor

Wheeler Hall, room 235
Meetings by appointment
dmcquade@berkeley.edu
19th-Century American
Creative Writing
D.A. Miller D.A. Miller
John F. Hotchkis Professor Emeritus and Professor of the Graduate School

Wheeler Hall, room 407
damiller@berkeley.edu
Narrative & the Novel
19th-Century British
Film
Cultural Studies
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Alan H. Nelson Alan H. Nelson
Emeritus

234 Wheeler
ahnelson@berkeley.edu
Renaissance and Early Modern
Middle English
John Niles John Niles
Emeritus

jdniles@wisc.edu
Old English
Poetry
Scottish
Morton D. Paley Morton D. Paley
Emeritus

337 Wheeler Hall
mpaley@berkeley.edu
18th-Century British
19th-Century British
no photo uploaded yet Carolyn Porter
Emerita

cporter@berkeley.edu
20th- and 21st-Century American
19th-Century American
Narrative & the Novel
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Critical Theory
no photo uploaded yet Ishmael S. Reed
Emeritus

Hugh Macrae Richmond Hugh Macrae Richmond
Emeritus

237 Wheeler
hmr@berkeley.edu
510 843-7528
Renaissance and Early Modern
Poetry
Drama
Peter D. Scott Peter D. Scott
Emeritus

234 Wheeler
peterdalescott@gmail.com
Robert Tracy Robert Tracy
Emeritus

337 Wheeler
rtracy@berkeley.edu
Drama
19th-Century British
Irish
Narrative & the Novel